Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Materialism :/
11:35 p.m. || September 14, 2012

*sigh* I need help with my spending habits. :/

I would love to say I'm not materialistic. But I'm not sure that's true. I definitely obsess over things to spend my money on.

Kinda feels good just to admit that.

Steve and I give ourselves each a $70/month allowance to spend on whatever we want to spend it on. Stephen usually saves his up for camera stuff. I usually spend all mine the same day I get it. :/

I call myself patient, because I wait months and years to buy particular items on my list of stuff I want to buy. But the thing is, I have hundreds of things on that list. I only wait because I can't buy all those hundred things at once. And even if I did, I would just want more.

The stuff I want falls into two categories: clothes, and makeup.

My mom is like this with craft stuff. And she is an impulsive buyer.

I've tried to combat my impulsive buying by, as I said, waiting. But that waiting does turn into obsession.

So how do you change impulsive wanting?

I can't sit here and analyze myself to death over this because it's late and I flat-out don't have the mental energy. But I probably should at some point. :/

In other news--and perhaps this will tell you why this topic is at the forefront of my mind today--I went out on a shopping day with my mom today. First time in AGES!! Ages!! When I was still living with her, it was one of our favorite pastimes. But I don't think I've gone shopping with her...maybe since the first year of my marriage.

Anyway, I only ended up buying two things, both on clearance: a white eyelet dress (one of those things I've been wanting for a couple years, but never found for a low enough price) and a similar dress in green (an impulse buy). But I went on the trip hunting for a long-sleeved pumpkin orange sweater cardigan (a recent obsession item), which I didn't find. :( The only one I found is $35, and that's on "sale." (At one of those stores that prices everything ridiculously high just so they can knock down the prices to kind-of-high via "sales.") What was really disappointing was that I had gone to this discount store a week earlier and found two or three orange cardigans that would've sufficed, and they were gone when we went there today.

Mom was really patient with my here, there, and everywhere way of approaching today's shopping trip. :) That was really sweet. And now she has about a zillion ideas of what to get me for Christmas, LOL. I know my mom...I can guarantee that something I said "Ooh! I like that!" to will be one of my Christmas gifts this year. :)

Unfortunately, I didn't get as many ideas for Mom... But then I'm still pondering that acts of service idea.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023