Present Past Profile Testimony Cast Quotes Dreams & Goals Guestbook Notes Design Host

�who am I: I'm a small town girl, living in the big city, learning to trust God. I married a wonderful, patient man, Stephen, in October of 2008 and we had our first child, Micah, in June 2014. I've been keeping this diary since I was 16 years old, so it has seen a lot of life with me!

�likes: singing my soul out, writing my heart out, learning new things, falling in love, helping people, thinking about life, talking things through, dancing

�dislikes: not knowing where I'm going, fighting, losing touch with friends, making mistakes

�current reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

�old reads:
icofxcnika
iamhephzibah
eowyn86
araquen
onlygrace
howgoesit
twintale

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

The D.A.
8:36 p.m. || February 21, 2015

Well, that's awful sweet. <3 I feel very....loved and humbled.

First, more of the back story.

The instance that really set off this entry was with a woman at our church, who I'll just call D.A. Which could stand for her name, or District Attorney. She's a bit pushy... :P I already hate confrontation; I hate it even more when they're pushy about it... Ick.

Anyway, she's come up to me several times--and probably to Stephen too--while I'm holding Micah out in the foyer.... Apparently she's in charge of the nursery or something.... And she's said to me something along the lines of, "You know, you can put him in the nursery." And I've presented her with a couple of reasons that I don't want to. I think I mentioned germs once. She defended that right away, but I found out from other people that the nursery workers aren't quite as strict about germs as they're supposed to be.... :Z

She still approached me after that, and the next Sunday I was a little more prepared with an answer and told her Stephen and I really want to keep Micah in the service with us as much as possible.

To which she promptly started outlining an argument, again, for putting him in the nursery. At one point, she had the gall to mention about how kids disturb others' worship experiences, which REALLY rubbed me the wrong way!

She also defended to me the quality of the nursery again. But I stood my ground and politely explained to her that I genuinely thought the nursery was great, it was just more the principle of the matter for our family.

Savannah was standing next to me with tiny Caroline that Sunday, listening as I gently "sparred" with D.A.

Apparently I really, really impressed her with my answer. :) She told me so a couple weeks later while we were nursing our babies in the women's bathroom. I was surprised to hear how impressed she was--and glad I came across so well.

Later that week, Stephen met with Will and when he was done, reiterated to me Savannah's impressed-ness, which she apparently shared with Will. :)

And then it came up again tonight while we visited with them. We were talking about how maybe the nursery workers were freaking out and wondering if there was something wrong with THEM that was keeping Steve and I (and others) out in the foyer with our babies.

I felt kind of embarrassed..."I probably should have said something like that to D.A. that day. If she asks about it again, I'll tell her I absolutely have no fear of the nursery workers."

"You did!" Savannah said, surprising me again. And she and Will told me again how well I'd handled the situation.

So I'm super happy that I made such a good impression, because I definitely didn't think, in that moment, that I was doing a good job! I knew my own actual lack of a definitive answer, and that my emotions were storming on the inside, but I guess none of that showed. So yay. :) I think it's probably the first time I've ever handled an awkward and sensitive situation with such apparent grace.

So anyways...

Back to the D.A. She didn't approach me again, but the next Sunday I found myself out in the foyer with Micah, a very, very nice nursery worker came up to me. She was a teen or college student, probably homeschooled, super respectable. She explained to me that she was a nursery worker and asked if I'd like her to even hold Micah or something so I could "go enjoy the service."

Again I politely declined, but thanked her for her offer.

I have a feeling this girl would never have approached me of her own accord. I mean, why was a nursery worker in the foyer to begin with? I think D.A. asked her to talk to me.

Since then I've had Stephen stand out in the foyer with him because I hate the confrontation, especially since I don't know exactly what to say to them. :/ I may have done well that one day, but I don't trust myself to do so well again until I've really got my response to their arguments sorted out.

And I'm still thinking on it. I was explaining this to Will and Savannah tonight... I said I'd read several blogs and things about it and I'm just working on putting all the pieces together in a "Stephanie puzzle." Ha! I haven't used language like that in a long time. It's so accurate...

It's nice to have friends like Will and Savannah. I feel like I can actually be myself in front of them, which is awesome. Thank you, Lord!

Well, this entry has already gotten much longer than I anticipated, and I probably still didn't write everything down the way I wanted to. So I'll just close for now and come back and edit later if needed.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Bucket List - 2019 - July 28, 2019

Stephen's Out of Town - April 24, 2019

A Little Bit "Extra" - April 01, 2019

Mara <3 - April 01, 2019

God's Justice and My Mom - March 24, 2019