Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Time is So Precious
11:03 p.m. || February 28, 2015

I went to the moms' night (mentioned in this entry) tonight. I went with heels dragging and bitterness and resentment in my heart. But on the way there I realized I was being selfish. So I repented, although I was still slightly irritable when I arrived.

I came away from it about an hour to an hour and a half later with a softened, quieted heart, because through the other girls' venting about the difficulties of motherhood, I realized how precious the time with Micah is right now. He's a wonderful baby right now. He gets cuter every day, I'm thoroughly enjoying every inch of developmental progress he makes, he's sleeping well (which could always change at a moment's notice, but it's been good for a solid month at the moment)... I only have vague concerns about whether he's eating enough. But I actually am enjoying this phase right now a lot. And going into that room and hearing all the "war stories" served to make me grateful all over again.

This week my friend Amy lost her mom after a 5-year battle with cancer--a very rare and highly genetic breast cancer that Amy also lost her aunt to several years ago. Amy may get this cancer eventually.

Amy is also married to a man who has battled clinical depression for a long time, and was recently diagnosed with bipolar disorder. So, needless to say, Amy has had a rough run of it. And she has stayed the course.

Amy keeps me humble.

And the loss of her mom this week has served to reinforce this lesson to me--time is precious. Cherish the moments you have.

I cried to leave Micah today. I nearly cried in the middle of the moms' night when I thought he might go to bed without me. I cried as I started home, wanting so badly to make it home to see him before he said good night.

I'm still full of uncried tears, because I had to make myself not cry in order to drive home safely to see Micah. :)

So I think this lesson has certainly hit home for me.

I'm looking forward to our usual rendezvous with the Lukes tomorrow after church so I can tell Savannah about this.

Time is precious.

Life is precious.

Don't let these moments slip by you.

-Stephanie

P.S. It dawns on me that I was also reading Stephen's grandma's book this week. Stephen's grandpa died of ALS about 25 years ago and Grandma B was his primary caretaker in his last years. The book is about their journey through ALS.

ALS is a terrible, incurable disease without a known cause, where your muscles waste away. I only got to the official diagnosis in the book before I had to stop reading it because it was just messing with my emotions, which were already messed up because of the cleaning fiascos of late, which I may or may not have mentioned in here. Remind me to do that if I haven't.

Anyway, so obviously God was setting me up for this lesson this week.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023