Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Syrian Refugees
2:54 p.m. || November 24, 2015

Dear Diary,

For once while Micah is napping, I'm not dead exhausted, lying flat in bed myself. Time to journal!

The Syrian refugee crisis is all over Facebook right now and has been for a couple weeks. I, as usual, haven't taken a side publicly on Facebook. I'm not sure I have a distinct side, really. I'm not 100% for or 100% against letting the refugees come in.

The refugees we tutored from 2008-2010 were Kurdish Iraqi Muslim refugees who lived in Syria for a while. Anyone who has heard me talk about them knows I absolutely loved them and trusted them (and still do).

So I have no hatred in my heart for refugees, Muslim or otherwise.

And I truly believe that only a small percentage of the refugees will actually be terrorists in disguise. Just like I truly believe only a small percentage of Muslims in general are extreme radicals.

But I do believe that that's an honest risk we'll take, taking them in. I really do believe that some terrorists will get into our country this way.

So I'm for limiting the number of refugees we bring in and heavily vetting them, especially if they fit the general profile. 10,000 seems too many at once.

But I don't know what the right number might be. I don't know what our intel resources are like, how many terrorists we can handle at once. I don't think I have any place trying to decide that, so I'm keeping quiet on Facebook.

Anyway, I think it's stupid that people are shaming all conservative Christians as a whole because we're wary of letting 10,000 refugees in. There's a difference between hatred and caution. Nobody seems to understand that these days.

My rule has been "everything in moderation" for a long, long time, and that goes for this situation, too.

-Stephanie

http://thecripplegate.com/biblical-ethics-government-and-refugees/

http://thecripplegate.com/stop-acting-like-you-have-the-refugee-crisis-figured-out/

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023