Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

"Wake Up, Wake Up, It's Time to Be A Man"
11:08 p.m. || July 22, 2016

So Relient K came out with a new album and one of the songs, "Man," has been stuck in my head for 3 days. It's driving me crazy, but since it's there, I figured I'd write about it.

The sound of the new album is much different than all their other albums. More indie is the best way I can describe it. (I'm sure my brother-in-law Jon could write a whole paper about it.) A lot of fans are complaining that they feel betrayed or something because it isn't their old sound. Funny thing is, I used to be that way when bands would change their sound, but I am really glad for Relient K's change in sound. The style is more easy-listening, which is nice, but also I feel like I have aged on the same timeline as Matt Thiessen, even though I think he is older than me. The old music suits the teenage me and the new music suits the grown-up me. With the exception of a few of their token bizarre songs, like Mr. Hippopotamus or whatever it's called.

Anyway, the funniest thing about this song that struck a chord (ha) in me is that it's about growing up, and one of the lines is: "Wave good-bye as I outgrow the shadow of Peter Pan...It's time to be a man."

Normally a line like that would bring me to tears. It just seems like a very poignant way of saying goodbye to childhood. And yet, I really, really love it in this song. Maybe it's the nice balance between waving good-bye and saying hello (to being a man). But I prefer to think that it is because I've grown up for real now. :) And things like that don't make me cry like they used to.

I feel like if I keep writing about this, I WILL cry, so we'll leave that for another day.

Tomorrow we go look at houses some more. The market is still insane crazy bonkers though. I hope we don't have to buy a house in this madness. We'll see what happens.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023