Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

31st Birthday: A Little Bit Different
2:56 p.m. || February 10, 2017

Birthday thoughts are a little different this year. Micah is my only birthday companion today. In the past, Stephen has been able to take time off work to make my birthday special, but it didn't work out this year. So instead of dizzying myself with ideas of all the ways I can have fun today, I'm sitting here thinking about self-sacrificial love.

Appropriately, Pandora is suggesting The Wheels On The Bus Radio as the "perfect soundtrack for your day." LOL!

As I'm sitting here picturing Micah's smiling face at a coffee shop or bakery or wherever we go today, I could tell myself that he's smiling because he wants my day to be special, but the truth is, he's nowhere near that. However, his smile will light up my day, without a doubt, as it always does. But it will have nothing to do with him making the day special for me, and everything to do with me trying to make the day special for him, just like I try to do every day. Even when I'm short on sleep and patience. Even when I'm too tired to play with him right this minute. Even when I'm too pregnant to bend down and pick up the crayons off the floor that he has knocked down there for the millionth time.

I don't need Micah for my self-fulfillment and I hope I never need Micah for my self-fulfillment. But he definitely needs me to love him now, and maybe in some ways he always will. I will always need to love him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Visited the city library for the first time today. Wow. That is an impressive city library. Of course, I didn't get any pictures, haha. Too overwhelmed just taking it all in.

Micah headed straight for the stairs (which thankfully led up to the children's area) and ran around investigating absolutely everything, especially all the chairs. I was bummed they didn't have any open play areas, but I guess in a big city library you have to have a little more structure when it comes to play areas for kids.

Afterward we attempted to find me a cupcake, but the bakery we tried was almost as overwhelming as the library for all the choices, and from what I could see, they don't make anything so humble as a single cupcake. Just enormous slices of cake and enormous slices of cheesecake and enormous brownies and enormous cookies. It looked like an amazing place to go at another time though!

I decided to try and seek out one more place for a tasty, but modest, treat for my birthday, but quickly learned that downtown traffic is BONKERS at lunchtime! Wow! And it was getting late. Sooooo we just went home for a quick snack and naptime. Maybe I will treat myself at some less crazy point next week.

I got birthday cards from all my sweet relatives who send money today, LOL. :) I gotta get on those thank-yous before I spend them. Maybe that's what I will do with the rest of Micah's naptime.

Other special things I am doing for today: making one of my favorite dishes tonight... BBQ pulled chicken sandwiches. I was going to make potato salad and roasted carrots, too, but I think maybe I might just buy some potato salad premade and forget the carrots. The adventures we had today already have worn me out! :)

Tomorrow is my "birthday observed" as well as Valentine's Day observed with Stephen. I think we're going to a crepes place in the morning with munchie for more of a birthday thing, and then later Mom is coming over to babysit munchie while we go celebrate Valentine's Day with a late lunch/early dinner somewhere middle-of-the-road but nicer than fast food, followed by a movie.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023