Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

One Part Celebration, One Part Sadness
2:59 p.m. || February 14, 2017

Saturday I got all the wonderful special treats I could have hoped for to celebrate my birthday and Valentine's Day. :)

We went downtown and tried one of the restaurants on my "bucket list" for the new city and it was really good. I got a chicken bacon apple quesadilla (YUM!) and some ginger pear tea and Stephen got pho.

Afterward we walked around downtown. There was a bakery right by the restaurant and I got me a chocolate cupcake to celebrate my birthday with. It was GOOOOOOOD. Stephen bought some random candies. Then we walked to a soap store, which turned out to be inside a building that used to be an opera house. And there were ALL these unique stores and windy paths through this building. It was so cool!

Stephen let us both get a bar of soap even though the pricing was absolutely ridiculous. I don't know how they get by charging so much. But Stephen knows me and how much I love getting different soaps. :) He's so sweet.

We went to a movie in a THEATER afterward, which we haven't done since Micah was born. We saw La La Land. Funny thing was, we knew absolutely nothing about it. We just heard it recommended from so many people we trust that we decided to go. It was okay--not my favorite. Stephen thought it was kind of weird because it's artistic in a way that Stephen doesn't care for. But we could've seen way worse.

Mom and Geri took care of Micah while we had our fun.

But before and after they came, Steve and I had some serious talks about Geri. We have decided that we aren't comfortable with her babysitting Micah anymore. :( We have both always felt weird about her. I wasn't too worried when Micah was younger and they were only babysitting him for 2 hours in the daylight while I did Bible study. Not much can happen in that time. But 6 hours at the end of the day, close to bedtime, was just too much. I don't think anything happened while we were gone, but it DOES make me uncomfortable that Geri was there while Micah was taking a bath. :( And then there's my issues with my mom, but that's a totally different story and not as much of a concern as it is a frustration.

So anyway, we've agreed that sometime soon, we need to have a sit-down talk with Mom about our misgvings about Geri, and that is the worst part. She's going to take it hard and there's just nothing we can do about that. It sucks. But it's the only right thing to do. I think I can spin it in a way she will understand, but it's still going to shake her up a bit. :(

On another note, on Sunday we had a fantastic afternoon visit with our pastor and his wife. I can't really write about it yet because I am still processing so much from that conversation. But a few things I can say: I have never had somebody just sit with us for that many hours (four!!) and just quietly listen to our story. Especially somebody so close to my own age (I think they're only a few years older than us). It was something I've never experienced before and it was so...something positive. I want more of that and I wish I could BE more like that.

Micah did so amazing the whole time. He just played upstairs with their kids, who are 4, 6, and 8 years old. He didn't even take a nap and the only hiccup the whole time was that he got a hold of a marker and colored on their walls. (AAAHH!) But the pastor's kids are amazing just like their parents, and just quietly cleaned it up. I wouldn't even have known about it except that Micah came down to see me and he had black marker all over his hands and I asked him about it. And he was SO. DANG. SWEET. I asked him if he had colored on paper, and he said, "No. On the walls." So I gently, without making a scene, reprimanded him. He knows that's a no-no. And he cried and cried and said his heartbreaking little, "I'm surry, Mommy." Oh my gosh. Angel child.

He went to bed at 8 that night and slept like a ROCK for 11.5 hours. :) He still needs his naps, sweet kiddo, but he does okay without them.

Speaking of, I need to go wake him from the one he is taking right now. Then we need to go and get some things done related to the baby nursery.

There's so much going on right now, I wish I could write more. We had to have a plumber come look at our bedroom sink today. At the end of the month we're having someone check out our foundation because Stephen is convinced our house is settling. I don't want to think about it because it's stressing Stephen out so much that it's depressing me. Thankfully we filed our taxes and should be getting a few bits of cash in the mail soon from various places. Sigh. I just wish this whole house thing was easier on him, Di. It is surely graying him faster. :(

Anyway, that's all for now.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023