Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

How Did You Come to Know Christ?
2:51 p.m. || March 08, 2020

Question from a new acquaintance of mine on Facebook.

How did you come to know Christ?

Bottom line is--I grew up in a Wesleyan church that cultured a Pharisaical attitude in me. But I wrestled inwardly with my own sin, and the plaguing thought that I could lose my salvation if I didn't "behave" well enough, as well as deep questions that my Nazarene church just couldn't answer for me.

Then I went to Christian college that had been infiltrated by postmodern ideology. I came face-to-face with it, which bothered me VERY deeply and eventually landed me in an existential crisis.

I met my husband during this time, who was and is a staunch Calvinist. There were a LOT of heated arguments about theology and quite a tempestuous relationship at times. Buuuuuut somehow I knew that I knew that I knew that I was going to marry him, and God blessed him with an incredible amount of patience and love for me. And slowly I was won over, not only to him, but also to his ideas. So much of what he said, and what the pastor of the church we attended said, made sense of a lot of the deep questions I'd had in high school and college.

We've been married 11 years now and have two young boys that I'm homeschooling or planning on homeschooling, and we attend a PCA church in Oregon. I have much more peace than I ever had before about God and his grace and everything. I just wish my Arminian and unitarian-leaning family and friends could understand things like I do.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023