Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Hope for the Best....
1:02 p.m. || September 27, 2014

How do you get to be 28 years old and still not have a realistic idea of things in life? I just don't understand.

Yesterday or the day before when Rhonda messaged me to tell me she was pregnant, she said, "Being pregnant doesn't feel like I thought it would..." She offered no further information. I decided to assume the best and imagine she meant because she wasn't far enough along to feel the physical symptoms (i.e. morning sickness). So I messaged her back and asked, "How far along are you?" "4 weeks," she told me. Again, no further information. So I finally asked, "How does pregnancy not feel like you thought it would?"

She said, "I thought I would feel 'life' somehow and be suddenly cheerful and maternal. I think I've watched too many movies or something...."

Twenty-eight years old. Same age as me.

Anyway. This is going to be a tough week.

I wrote her back and said, "Oh, I thought you meant because you aren't feeling the physical symptoms yet. (Those hormones kick in around 6 weeks.) But yeah, I don't know that getting pregnant creates any emotional changes like you described instantly. The first time I really started feeling something like love toward my baby was after I felt him start moving, around 22 weeks."

And then I asked her my next "Hope-for-the-best, expect-the-worst" question: "Is Paul [her boyfriend] excited about the baby?"

I almost asked "to be a daddy again" (he has an 18-year-old daughter from a previous relationship), but I decided that might be too....pointed.

The answers I am afraid I might receive are:
"No, I'm not sure I should tell him. He didn't know I was off birth control."
Or, "No, it's not his baby."

Yeah.

So we'll see.

Hope for the best. Hope for the best. Hope for the best...

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023