Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid
11:41 p.m. || February 03, 2024

Sometimes I just have to laugh at my kids. Not like...public humiliation. Just a laugh and shake of my head like, "I have absolutely no way to control this." LOL!

That was us today at the Education Expo in our neck of the woods. There was a homeschool Q & A panel that I decided to sit in on. They had a play area for kids in the back corner with Magnatiles (bless those thoughtful moms!!) so my kid was happy as a clam back there for the first 40 minutes or so.

Then he just had to come to me to show me his creation. And of course I'm in the front row. And of course he has ZERO situational awareness and just comes waltzing in front of everyone, right between the panel and the audience, completely oblivious to any social rules about classroom-style settings. He's not a small, cute little tot, either, but a 9-year-old the size of a 12-year-old. Oh my heavens.

But what can I do? He's totally happy. And completely socially oblivious. So I just laugh and shake my head and say quietly, "Okay, please go back and play with the other kids now." And off he trots.

Part of it's my own fault. I have been hyperfocused on him since day 1 (unlucky combination of anxiety and a reflux baby 😬) and have not been good about explaining social rules, setting expectations, boundaries, etc. Not to mention I'm not exactly a poster child for social savoir-faire myself!

One other funny story from today. He was having a grand old time with me at the tables--all that free candy and interactive games. But one table I stopped at longer than his ADHD brain could focus, and what does he do? Well, he starts spinning circles in the middle of the walkway. I mean why not?? Oh my child. XD

Anyway. I love my ADHD kiddo. But sometimes I just want to crawl under a rock! I have just enough social awareness to know things are wrong, but not enough know-how to wiggle my way smoothly out of awkward situations. Eesh! And I wonder why I have such a hard time with believing people love me in all my weirdness. :)

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023