Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Christianity Explored, Week 3
11:57 a.m. || October 18, 2012

Yesterday Heidi texted me and told me she has a pretty bad cold, and that she and Alex weren't going to be able to come to Christianity Explored. After much deliberation, I decided to go without them. Somehow I knew I should.

And I found out why. I can tell that I am there for the sake of two of the nonChristians in the class, Cami and Mike. I almost think I am there more for them than I am there for Heidi and Alex.

Last week in class I was given the opportunity to dish out a 2-minute crash course in Jewish history, although I didn't do it perfectly. I'm still working out all that myself. This week I got to speak up on stuff I know a whole lot better: What the point of Christianity IS: the fact that Jesus died to serve the punishment we deserve, and that that is what makes us right before God. I also got to tell my own personal story of how I didn't understand the Gospel before 4 years ago, and how my church and my marriage led me to understand it more.

It seemed to really resonate with Cami and Mike. Mike told me I put it in a way that people can relate to. And Scott (teacher) liked what I had to say.

I know this isn't about me, but it is teaching me about me nonetheless. I've always wrestled with the question of who am I, and how do I fit into this whole Christianity thing. Where's my niche? And this class is helping me uncover what my niche is. It was really good to know last week that I can put things in laymen's terms, and it was really good to know this week that I can put things in such a way that people can relate to them.

So I'm very excited about that. :)

I'm also very excited about Cami and Mike being in this class at all. I am sure God is going to use it to reap a harvest. If I were to speculate on how things were going to go, I'd say that Cami, who takes things in very deeply and mulls them over in her heart and soul, will come to Christ first. And I think God may use her to reach to her husband in the ways our class can't. Mike tends to leave things way up here, in his head, without bringing them down to a personal heart level. I don't think he'll get there by our class, but I think his wife will help him in that way. And I'm hoping and need to be praying that our class will bring him as far as he's going to get. Because there are some things that we can teach him in class that his wife won't be able to explain to him--but we just don't know what all of those things are yet. The only one I know right now is the idea of Jesus being God. Not just being granted power by God--but actually BEING God Himself in the flesh. Mike was having a really hard time believing that last night.

I love watching Cami take all this in. I LOVE IT. Her heart is so ready for the Gospel. As soon as she grasps it, she'll get it, and I'm so so so so so excited for that. :D

So anyway. Gotta keep praying for them. And I need to pray more about Heidi and Alex and our role there, too...Because at this point I'm not sure what it is. I'm mostly sure about what my role for Cami and Mike is.

So anyway--exciting stuff!! I can't wait until next week.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023