Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Confessions of a Housewife: I Hate Making Meals
3:19 p.m. || November 06, 2012

(Rant.)

Today I'm having an epic battle with myself over making meals.

I am pretty sure I am the only married woman on the face of the planet who hates everything about making meals. And I've seriously wondered several times in the last year if this might be a reason not to be a mother. Because, doggone it, children need to be fed.

But I am so not interested in being the person that does all the cooking.

Half the time I hate the very idea that our bodies need food at all. The rest of the time I have no desire to feed myself meals made at home, and it stresses me out to think that other people might actually want them (i.e. my husband and my future kids). I have no emotional attachment whatsoever to homecooked meals. My comfort food is macaroni and cheese, Totino's pizza, and McDonald's hamburgers! Because that is what I grew up on.

So I SO DO NOT GET how I am called to make meals from scratch EVERY SINGLE DAY for one, two, three, maybe four other people!

It's the every single day part that really gets me. It just feels so endless and pointless!

And just to be clear, the reason I have to make everything from scratch or virtually from scratch is because of the low-sodium diet. And because it is ultimately cheaper to make things from scratch, and tastes better, and is more personalized to your tastes, and all the other junk people say about it. Everywhere I turn, I hear about a zillion good reasons to cook from scratch, because I just live in that kind of area.

But it is driving me into the ground, I swear.

Right. So. Now that I have let off a little steam and utter frustration... It's getting close to crunch time as far as getting ingredients we need before I cook dinner tonight and I should probably get my tail out there. :(

But one of the things I am absolutely sick of is going to the grocery store every single stupid day and buying two things at a time. But in order to plan meals and shop for everything all at once I'd actually have to be interested in eating at all. And I am so not that person.

*frustrated sigh* So this is my life right now. I better go deal with it. :/

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023