Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Flower Shop and Stuff :)
2:46 p.m. || May 21, 2013

Well, this week is going well so far.

Sunday I went to Mom's new house (did I mention she's moving? [just a few blocks away from her old house]) and celebrated my aunt Gail's birthday with them.

I think I'm going to take some time to talk about that. That was fun. :)

Mom's new house is smaller than her old one. It's still bigger than our apartment--so maybe around 900 or 1000 feet. It has 3 bedrooms (albeit very small) and one bathroom. The kitchen is nice, not huge, but better laid out than ours for sure. It's actually just about the PERFECT size of a house that Stephen and I could use if we started a family, and it made me really excited to know that a house that small could still work and be really cute.

I mentioned how it's the perfect size to Mom and Geri, which got us naturally talking about our possibly future family. Mom said something that just tickled me pink. She said she's already bought a couple outfits--one for each gender! I just about died from giddy happy fuzzy love feelings. LOL.

While we were eating, we talked about Mom moving and packing, and I found out she's going to sell her oven, couch, and piano. When she said piano, I said, "NO!!" Mom is not Mom without a piano!!! I'm tempted to give her mine! It's not at all the same as a real piano, and I don't think she'd enjoy it, so I probably won't give it to her... But the thought of Mom forgetting how to play her songs like I've forgotten to play mine just breaks my heart! Who is my mom without her piano songs???

I reeeeeeeaaaaaally wish I could take Mom's piano, but it would never work for our apartment. So sad!!

Anyway...I think that's all I had to say about that.

Monday I worked for the flower shop, which went pretty well. It was amazing how FEW flowers there were to clean! LOL. I'm used to cleaning flowers right at the holidays when they get TONS. But I cleaned, like, 5 bunches and then there weren't anymore to clean. Anyway, then I helped clean out and restock the front cooler, where we have arrangements on display for people to buy. I learned something. Flower shops are very routine. Which is fascinating to me--I never realized that something artistic could have elements of routine, too. I like that it has both.

I was there a lot longer than I expected. That was extremely frustrating and something I have to work on: establishing reasonable expectations. Gary isn't the best communicator. :P He's a little absent-minded and doesn't think to share details, like how long he expects you to work. I fully expected to get off before everybody because I'm just "extra help," in my head, and instead everyone got off before me!! I have this feeling that Gary and I are going to become very familiar with each other, because it turns out all Mondays will be like that. That could be a good thing--but it was a bit of a rocky start for me!

Gary is going to have me take on the lion's share of delivering when Earnie (our regular delivery driver) is not there. Apparently neither of the other female workers like to deliver. Good thing I like it! I'll have to get used to delivering in this area though--their delivery range is really different than the last shop I worked at!

So I really need to get off and get out of the house, but just a summary of today. I got my paycheck yesterday at work, so today I felt this blessed freedom of having EXTRA MONEY to play with. Wow!! What a feeling! I bought myself tea and cereal today that I don't need. I bought myself a decorating book. I could go get myself a Starbucks hot chocolate if I wanted to!!! Oh, Lord, the blessing of a little wiggle room!!

But the lion's share of my paycheck is going to--*drumroll and trumpet blast*--DEBT SNOWBALL!!! We're going to hammer down our school loans until there's not a penny left that we owe to the banks! Stephen and I are both so relieved to be finally throwing money a that stupid weight hanging over our heads. Praise God. I'll make maybe $140 a week or so, which amounts to $560 a month, which is a lot to throw at debt! Sooooooo happy about that. We'll be out of debt in no time. Lovin' it!

So good news all around. :D I'm so happy and thankful and blessed. God is good.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023