Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Materialism and Knowing God
8:00 a.m. || September 18, 2022

My father in law posted some good thoughts on materialism today and it's futility. Here is my response.

You kind of lost me with philosophical references for a minute, but I think I grasp the basic message. 😀 It reminds me of Ecclesiastes, which I recently decided to start reading through it again. All these earthly things Solomon decided to pursue and gain for himself--and how they were all, down to the last one, meaningless, a chasing after the wind! You've also reminded me of what Jesus said -- "What does it profit a man if he gains the world but loses his soul?"

I personally am constantly at war with materialism in myself. There is a part of me that desperately wants a comfortable, easy life, and I feel like having the things I "need" will achieve that. But there's a part of me that wants Christ more.

Funny thing is, if I was actually convinced that God loves me, as you mentioned, materialism would probably be uprooted more easily. But that's an even more difficult lesson for me to learn. I suppose I need to understand still what his love actually looks like and use that as a baseline for love -- instead of trying to understand what love is through the shattered lens of earthly examples.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023