Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

A Dissertation on Spring
8:48 p.m. || February 07, 2005

Haha, my first real college essay (almost) completed!!

This is by no means the final copy. I realize that I need to lengthen the introduction and form a smoother transitioning to the conclusion... Probably some smoother transitioning everywhere, actually!... I just don't know how to do that quite yet. I believe we are doing some in-class editing Wednesday; maybe I'll get some ideas from that.

I do wish Professor D would allow me to go to him to look over my paper so I can fix it. :/ But he says, "I don't do for someone what I can't do for everyone." {grudgingly} I guess that makes sense. Oh well. :P

MY MOM'S COMING ON TUESDAY!! And she's bringing my car and she might be able to be here for my birthday! ::crosses fingers:: That would be so great.

Here is my essay:

A Dissertation on Spring

Spring is my favorite season. That is when the frozen ground begins to thaw, bluer hues tint the sky, sunlight provides more warmth, colors appear everywhere, and each rainfall fills the earth with more life.

The first reason spring is my favorite season is that the temperatures and weather conditions are perfect. In the valley winters of the dry desert area of the two places I have lived, temperatures drop below freezing and the icy, harsh wind starts to blow, yet there is often no white blanket of snow to cover the ugliness of the dead grass or to clothe the nakedness of the bare trees. There is often not even a sprinkling of rain to relieve the thirstiness of the ground. I feel as if I am dying myself from thirst here in *****.

Whereas the winters of arid climates are too cold, summers are far too hot. I am not a huge fan of water sports, so most of the summer I stay inside an air-conditioned house and, since my car doesn�t have air-conditioning, the trips I make into town are as quick as possible. Everything is green and bright, but the heat of the sun saps the life out of people, and lawns that are not carefully watered quickly become dry and yellow.

Fall is the next best season to spring, in my opinion. There is increased rainfall and the temperatures are nicer. However, fall is moving towards winter instead of away from it. All the trees� leaves are losing their healthy green look and falling off. Things are in the process of dying in the fall, and blustery gray days are harsh and not gentle as they usher in the cold winter, and unlike springtime, fall�s gray days do not always have a guarantee of the sun shining later on.

The second reason spring is my favorite season is that warm rains and warmer sunshine bring in a variety of colors. Besides the rich green of the grass, the deep blue of the sky, and the brilliant gold of the sun, spring also brings the magnificent purples of lilacs, the bright, cheery colors of tulips, and the pastel beauty of blooming dogwoods. I am an artist; I love color, and all these beautiful flowers only further my happiness when the season comes around. But in addition to the colors that springtime brings are the scents. Two of my favorite scents come with spring: lilacs and the earth after rain falls.

Above all, I enjoy the rain of spring. The feeling of water falling on my face�the thought of water finally quenching the ground�s thirst�the smell that rain leaves after it falls�these things delight me. Water is equivalent to life for everything here on this planet, and spring brings in a bounty of it, not only with the rain but with the melted snow from the mountains that makes the streams rush and flow.

Each season has its own pros and cons. Many people who live in higher elevations with moister climates may enjoy the fun of winter sports, the welcome warmth of summer, or the cool temperatures and vibrant colors of fall, but here in *****, or home in ******, spring remains my favorite season of all.

{smile} I'm a sap. He told us to write about our favorite something though!

Gosh. I am so not an essay writer. If you can't tell from my paper, I'm much more used to creative writing, with lots of wonderful describing words and NO RULES that just make my paper boring.

After English Comp (the class I'm writing this for) today I wrote a frustrated "essay" on why I hate writing essays. Professor D had just finished lecturing us on all the rules of essay-writing! Yuck! He talked about making our reasons relevant and explaining them to our readers... I understand that all right, I guess, but I just wish people could draw from the words we use our opinions like they do when reading books! Rather than having to tell them, plain and clear, "Spring is my favorite season because it is nice and warm, and I like warm weather." For heaven's sake. You'd think they'd be able to discern from the phrase "nice and warm" that I like warm weather.

Anyway. That is an exaggerated example. :) I'll probably get critiques from all around the world saying, "Well, nice and warm must be explained, because you are explaining the main idea of your thesis statment, which is that spring is 'your favorite season.'"

Writing is so much more fun without a bunch of rules.

(Watch, two years later, when I actually get used to writing essays, I'll be saying "writing with rules is so much easier because then I know what to write." {sigh} O Life!)

P.S. He TOLD us to write "The first reason is that..." and "the second reason is that..." So if you find that boring, repetitive, and monotonous, as I did, DON'T LOOK AT ME. He told me to.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023