Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Major Trouble!
7:43 p.m. || April 07, 2005

Geez. And I thought my storm was calming after finishing my French presentation.

It's preregistration time. I know what classes I want. There's just one problem: I don't know what major I want. I have no direction. I am totally lost.

I talked to one of my advisors today about my predicament. I told him about possibly double majoring or taking on a major and a minor. "Well... Do you want to go to school for 5 or 6 years?" he asked.

My eyes got big. Five or six years here, stuck at NNU?? I mean, not that I don't like it here, but five or six years!

Basically he told me if I want to graduate in 4 years, I'm going to have to just do one major and no minors or anything. So now I have three options--no, four; I just added a new one after diving deep into my undergraduate's catalog:

  • English
  • Elementary Ed
  • English Education
  • Applied Studies

I was so set in switching to Elementary Ed. And then I realized, "...Then I'd have to lose my friends." My English and English Education friends! Michelle, Jana, and Kyle. They are, like, the greatest friends I have, besides Jenny and Rebekah (who is leaving next year--sad!!! :'( )! How could I say good-bye to them?

Not that I'd actually be leaving, like Rebekah, but I wouldn't have any classes with them, except for possibly the Gen. Ed. classes like Theology and a Kinesiology credit (Jana's taking Tennis and Badminton next year, like I want to :) ).

English and Applied Studies are the two majors in which I could get nearly everything I wanted. If I majored in English I'd have lots of classes with them, probably. If I majored in Applied Studies and took lots of English classes (like I would anyway!!) then I would probably have several classes with them. That'd be so awesome. I don't want to lose my friends...

The thing is, I want a job. I have NO CLUE what kinds of jobs you can get with an Applied Studies or English major. My friend Kelly, who is graduating this year, is going on to graduate school to get a degree in Librarian work. That sounds like something I would like to do! That's the one possiblity I know about, though.

Aah... I'm starting to ramble. Sorry.

Okay. So, the three things I want according to my major are classes I want, my friends, and a job. (Wow, am I ever unique.) Now how do I fit all that in?!

It's really stressing me out, especially with the time pressure on: the sooner you register the more likely you are to get the classes you want--and it's preregistration time right now. I'm supposed to meet with my Education advisor tomorrow and my English advisor next week. (Next WEEK?!! HE's crazy!!) But I can't register unless I know what I want my major to be! :'(

So, anyway. I'm stressed. I need help. I need wisdom. I need someone who can tell me what to do... :(

Update (4/8/05): Okay, just double your prayers for me, anyone who is listening. I got a couple different suggestions today and, man, I wish I knew what to do... p>

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023