Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

A Goodbye For John
9:11 p.m. || July 16, 2005

Well, work tonight was really fun. It was a semi-quiet night and there was a lot of joking going on; we had a good time. But the night ended on a sad note. John, the nicest guy there, is leaving. Tomorrow is his last day. I just found out tonight, and I don't work tomorrow. :'( I am really, really going to miss him... He was the closest thing to a Christian there. He was so patient, and funny, and always forgiving.

I sound like I'm writing a eulogy... But it was really that sad! He's going to another branch of Domino's, 45 minutes away. That's not much, and I know I can go visit whenever I want, but he won't be at work anymore.

I'll get along with Joey, Hilary, and Kelly there, but I'm sure going to miss John.

When he said I should come visit, he told me the oddest thing. "I know you're a very churchgoing and... kind of innocent person, and I'm going to have to break you of that." I wasn't sure if he was serious or not. He continued: "When I got here and the guys made jokes, I would just walk away, 'cause I didn't want a harassment case against me." I forget the rest of what he said... But it makes me worry, sort of, what's he going to say to me if I visit that he'd have to warn me of beforehand? Or was he just kidding...?

Anyway.

He hugged me goodbye and told me twice it was good getting to know me, but I did a lousy goodbye. I'm not very good at them. I don't cry, I don't say sweet, meaningful things, I just don't say much at all, and then I leave--usually as quickly as possible. I put on my strong face because I don't want to break down in front of the person. But then I cry afterward...

That's how it was tonight too. I can't believe I only found out today and he is leaving tomorrow--and I don't work Sundays. I'm glad for him in one way--his pregnant wife's doctor is up in M***** anyway, so it'll be easier on them in that way. I just wish I'd said goodbye better, I guess... :'(

It's not going to be the same without him. But at least I'll have the others that I've made friends with to get me through this last month... :')

-Stephanie

P.S. Ty's mom came in today... She's a lot like Ty. I found myself thinking, "That's where he gets it..." when she came in. John says she is a fun lady, as long as you don't make her mad. Just like Ty.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023