Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

οΏ½reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Answering Questions
9:37 p.m. || October 11, 2005

WOW. That was one whammer of a conversation. I'm not sure why people come to me with their questions. I'm sure not a pastor. I can only hope that my "answers" make sense and that I don't sound like a know-it-all.

Sidenotes: If my s/n in this conversation is showing up in green on your computer, I don't know why. It's supposed to be red.

I must give credit to Isaac, who first introduced to me my interpretation of 1 Peter 3:9. :) Thanks, Isaac; you made an impact in my life in a big way.

Amgibsen*(8:15:05 PM): Hey, I've got a problem, rather, my friend, Jason, does. We were at NC District Camp 2 months ago, and he met a girl. She lives near him, and was there because she is the cousin of someone who goes to one of the other churches in the area. While at camp, she made the decision to follow Christ, but the next week, she had fallen back into the ways of the world. Since then, she's turned to drugs and other substances. Jason is really worried about her, and he's turned to me for help
Amgibsen(8:15:06 PM): But I don't know how
Amgibsen(8:16:38 PM): He's not a very strong Christian, as he's struggled with his faith a lot in the past few weeks, and I'm really worried that while trying to lead her to Christ, he'll fall away, as she has
Seinahpet210 (8:17:42 PM): how old is he?
Seinahpet210 (8:17:45 PM): and she?
Amgibsen(8:18:39 PM): He's 15, he'll be 16 in December, I don't know her very well, but I'm guessing she's around that age
Seinahpet210 (8:19:19 PM): have you told him you're worried about him helping her and possibly falling into her ways?
Amgibsen(8:20:03 PM): Not yet, he called me tonight asking for help, and my mom made me get off the phone before I even got to really talk to him
Seinahpet210 (8:23:23 PM): and you're looking for advice from me?
Amgibsen(8:23:59 PM): Yea, I don't really have anyone else to talk to
Seinahpet210 (8:24:54 PM): okay--I asked because sometimes people just want someone to bounce ideas off of or someone to listen
Seinahpet210 (8:25:14 PM): the best advice I can give is pray and pray hard. to both of you.
Seinahpet210 (8:29:22 PM): Jason might have issues with that--he might say something like, "Just stand off to the side and watch her destroy herself?" in that case, there's a verse he needs to write down and post everywhere--somehow, he needs to remember it: 2 Peter 3:9. why don't you look that up and type it to me.
Amgibsen(8:32:00 PM): "God isn't late with his promise as some measure lateness. He is restraining himself on account of you, holding back the End because he doesn't want anyone lost. He's giving everyone space and time to change."
Seinahpet210 (8:32:56 PM): okay. here's another version of it: "The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance."
Seinahpet210 (8:33:52 PM): God is not willing that anyone should perish. Including this girl. That means He is going to try everything in His power to reach her, to turn her around.
Amgibsen(8:35:14 PM): But he's really scared that she'll get caught in the wrong place at the wrong time, especially since she's got a drug problem
Seinahpet210 (8:38:12 PM): Maybe you didn't catch what that said. He will do anything in his power to save his people! Do you believe it? There are a couple of things Jason has to realize on his own. One is the definition of faith. Faith is... what? I know you've heard it a hundred times. What does that verse say?
Seinahpet210 (8:38:29 PM): (Hebrews 11:1, in case you haven't heard it a million times :) )
Amgibsen(8:39:16 PM): Faith is being sure of what you hope for and certain of what you do not see (It was a Bible Quizzing memory verse 2 years ago)
Seinahpet210 (8:42:35 PM): Yes. Jason has to have faith: being certain of what we cannot see. We can't always see God working. We have to believe He is. We have to hope He is. Faith and hope are the same thing, as Romans 8:25 says.
Seinahpet210 (8:43:31 PM): That's what God is looking for in you and Jason right now. Believe He's in control. Have faith in His power. Have hope that he's working.
Seinahpet210 (8:44:59 PM): did that make sense?
Amgibsen(8:45:56 PM): Yea, but it sounds so easy, one of our football players at school was killed in a car accident over the weekend, he wasn't a Christian
Seinahpet210 (8:48:54 PM): And I don't have any answer for that. I don't know that anyone can accomplish a level of understanding God that deep.
Seinahpet210 (8:49:05 PM): And it probably sounds to you like I am spouting off Sunday School answers.
Seinahpet210 (8:49:07 PM): Right?
Amgibsen(8:50:19 PM): I wouldn't know, we haven't gotten in a deep discussion in my Sunday School class since 6th grade when my SS Teacher was a senior in High School
Amgibsen(8:51:12 PM): It's the same with Youth Group
Seinahpet210 (8:56:58 PM): Okay. That wasn't my point, anyway. I just wanted you to know that my answers and explanations aren't things I've picked up at the church and shoved away in some file marked "Answers" to pull out whenever someone comes to me asking for advice. I've just been learning those lessons for the last year.
Amgibsen(8:57:25 PM): Yea, I know, sorry
Seinahpet210 (9:00:12 PM): Okay. So I've told you all Jason can do is pray and pray hard for this girl, and all you can do is pray and pray hard for Jason, and believe, and hope.
Seinahpet210 (9:06:52 PM): If you could, write down those verses I gave you and post them everywhere you look from day to day--by the phone, on the computer, on the mirror, wherever you will see them most often. Remember that old song? "The B-I-B-L-E, yes, that's the book for me! I stand alone on the Word of God." When there's nothing else to stand on, hang onto those Bible verses with all your life.
Seinahpet210 (9:07:06 PM): They're you're only hope.
Amgibsen(9:07:30 PM): Ok, thank you so much
Amgibsen(9:07:36 PM): Oh, yea, one more question
Seinahpet210 (9:07:39 PM): sure
Amgibsen(9:09:41 PM): Like I said before, Jason has been going through some hard times in his faith lately, and I was thinking maybe he and I would be able to get together once every week or two for a Bible Study/Devotional Time, but we live about an hour apart, any ideas?
Seinahpet210 (9:15:05 PM): hmm... I don't know the relationship between you and Jason, but just a warning: be careful of doing something that committed with just the two of you. It might turn into an emotional mess. I have one idea. Could you get together a small group of friends--whether or not they're mutual--and meet somewhere? It could be a halfway point that the friends from your town would split the cost of driving to, and if Jason brought friends, they could split the cost between them, too.
Amgibsen(9:16:19 PM): We're best friends, I don't drive quite yet, and he still has his permit
Seinahpet210 (9:17:07 PM): Do you know any older kids who drive who would be interested in a small group Bible study?
Amgibsen(9:18:41 PM): I don't think so
Seinahpet210 (9:21:03 PM): Could you look for some?
Seinahpet210 (9:23:26 PM): If you decide to go for it, put up signs in your church/youth center and Jason's church/youth center. I could even send you an example poster via e-mail if you don't know quite where to begin.
Amgibsen(9:24:44 PM): I could try, but most of the older teens are too caught up in their own lives, it usually takes a lot even to get them to come on Wednesday nights
Seinahpet210 (9:25:53 PM): Try it. Definitely try it; some of the upperclassmen might surprise you. And don't forget to keep praying. As James says (another verse for you :) ), "The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective."
Amgibsen(9:26:39 PM): I have to go to bed, but I can't thank you enough for your help and patience
Seinahpet210 (9:27:00 PM): I'm glad I could help :)
Seinahpet210 (9:27:12 PM): I hope your Bible study works out
Seinahpet210 (9:27:28 PM): have a good night, all right?
Amgibsen(9:27:40 PM): Ok
Amgibsen(9:27:42 PM): You too
Amgibsen(9:27:44 PM): Ttyl
Amgibsen(9:27:47 PM): God Bless
Seinahpet210 (9:27:53 PM): God bless. Good night. :)

-Stephanie

*Screen name changed for protection.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023