Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Matt's Baby
2:02 p.m. || March 14, 2008

I got to hold Matt's baby!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was sooooooooooo fun!!!!

I've never mentioned Matt in here. So here we go. :D

Matt from the Dex is his full name. LOL. He works in our school cafeteria. He worked full-time my freshman and sophomore year, but now he only works weekends because he takes care of his little baby (whose name, I think, is Jordan).

My first impression of Matt was one of dislike and intimidation. He was known all across campus for his sardonic wit. He regularly insulted whoever came into his line, calling them things like "Stinkbucket" and "Dogvomit." He would lash into anyone regardless their temperament. Some wittier people than I would catch on and make scathing joshes back, but I could never, never, never think of anything to say back. All I could do was look incredulous and laugh a little bit and perhaps try to defend myself half-jokingly. I hated going to his line because I knew I wouldn't be able to come up with some great comeback, but his line was all the food I liked, so I always ended up having to face him anyway. Eventually I tried to plan remarks ahead of time, and I got used to the challenge of the game and grew to like it, although I knew I would never be able to match his raillery.

Sophomore year I went on the Gulf Coast trip with NNU (story here) and helped rebuild homes after the Katrina disaster. Half of us went to Louisiana and half of us went to Mississippi, and then we split into teams of 7 or 8 people and each attacked a different project. Matt was not only on the Mississippi half of the trip with me, but he was on my same team! And over that trip I got to see a whole other side of him that was great to see. I always knew he was a softie at heart, but I saw it bright and clear on that trip. At night when we had devotions he shared things that were on his heart and would sometimes end up crying. We got to be fairly close friends on that trip. He told me about his dreams of being a chef or going to school to become a nurse. I did a lot of listening. I started to kind of like him, of course, just because of spending a lot of time with him (happens all the time!), but I knew all along that nothing would come of it, so it never turned into a full-blown crush. Good thing, too; later I found out he was dating a girl named Jennifer at our school.

So after Mississippi, Matt only occasionally ruffled my nerves when I stood in line at the Dex with him. Oftentimes, in fact, he would start talking about his life with God and his life before God, and talk for several minutes about himself. I always just listened and responded the best I could and enjoyed that he trusted me enough to just talk to me like that. And that's how it's been--we catch each other up on our lives. He told me when he got married to Jenni in September, and that they were expecting a baby boy in November. "Bad judgment call, but we'll love him just the same," Matt said with a fatherly smile. When I started dating Stephen, Matt was one of the first people I wanted to meet him. When I told him we were engaged, he gave me a long talk about how wonderful marriage is, and sacred before God. :D Matt didn't grow up a Christian, so he doesn't know a lot yet about it, but he has got the biggest heart for God I've ever seen.

And today as I was eating at the Dex, he was sitting at a table with Jenni and his little baby (who is 4 months old now but BIG!), and when the other people left his table, I went and said hi, and Matt asked me if I wanted to hold Jordan. So I got to hold him!!! It was so great! I held him for a long time, and he didn't fuss. Matt talked about how he will do his best to raise Jordan on Christian principles and help him to become a good person. I can't help it, but I just love that guy. :D For being 35 and having such a sarcastic sense of humor, he is so innocent and sensitive at heart. "It's a mask," Matt told me once.

I just love that guy. And I am so glad I got to hold Jordan!!! Awww!!!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023