Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Humor, the Great Leveler - or Is It??
3:17 p.m. || March 24, 2009

I just discovered a very profound truth about myself! To me, humor is the great leveler.

I am SO GLAD I finally figured that out.

My husband has an entirely different sense of humor than I do and I've known that since long before we were dating. And I've been trying very hard to figure it out since I met his family, who shares his odd sense of humor.

This is the method by which I discovered my very profound truth:

Stephen and I were just talking about movies. I realized suddenly that he and his family love obscure movies. I announced this discovery to Steve and he promptly agreed. I thought that was kind of silly. He gave me this justification: "Movies for us is like fashion is for you. You know how you like to dress apart from the trends, and would like people to notice that you specifically do not dress with the trends? You have your own style."

I said yes.

"Well, that's like how we are with movies. We want people to see that we don't follow the crowds."

After much contemplation, I told him that was a pretty good justification.

It dawned on me about 3 minutes later that their family's sense of humor is the same as their taste in movies. And from there it was a short jump to realizing that Stephen and his family use humor to sort of set themselves apart from everybody, while to me it's the COMPLETE opposite! Humor is something I use to put myself ON the same level as everybody! Ever using it to set myself apart from people would never, ever, ever have occurred to me! I couldn't believe the realization.

At the same time I was okay with Stephen doing that. I could understand why, sort of. But I did tell Stephen that I definitely wasn't that way, that humor, to me, was a great leveler. This way of viewing humor, I found out, was as much of a novelty to him as his was to me. But after thinking about it for a couple minutes, he said, "You know... I'm not like that at all, but I can see why you would be. And I think that's kind of honorable."

These unexpected words of praise filled me with a sense of great pride and honor. :D I love the idea that we differ so greatly on something, yet each of our motives behind our actions are honorable.

Honorable is such a nice word to hear about yourself.

-Stephanie

You'll have to forgive me for the occasional peppering of old-fashioned phrasings in this entry. I've been reading a historical novel by Tasha Alexander, written of the Victorian age. :)

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023