Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Stuck
5:07 p.m. || July 02, 2009

How do people who are not Christians stay happily married?

It's not supposed to be a judgmental question... Just a practical one. I'll explain in a minute.

My own parents didn't stay together and I've been trying to figure out why marriages do or don't last ever since I got engaged. Stephen keeps telling me that we will stay together if we stay focused on Christ. That's a nice abstract N-type statement from a person who grew up in a stable Christian home, but I just need more than that. Hence my question.

I don't even know any couples, Christian or not, who have been married for longer than 5 years except his parents and my grandparents. Figuring out what makes a marriage last is so COMPLICATED when you grow up in a single-parent home. :(

The other question that is currently frustrating me is what in the world am I supposed to do with my life. I've been asking it for years and years and I still haven't figured anything out.

I thought about going to get my master's in Teaching English as a Second Language. I still like that idea theoretically, but when I'm faced with all the details that come along with that, I flounder. It's not just that job, it's EVERY job I think of doing. It's not only a question of what I WANT to do, either, it's a question of what CAN I do, realistically? I just don't have this NJ attitude of "I can do anything I set my mind to." I just don't. Where does a person like me go in life? What in the world is my next step?! Can't anybody come down here and just take my hand and guide me through every single step along the way? I just don't know how to get out of this pattern I find myself stuck in of following an idea until it gets to the practical application and then balking. I'm just like my sister. :( How in the world are we going to survive the world?

HELP!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023