Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

A Bit of Earth
1:32 p.m. || August 20, 2010

A Bit of Earth
from the musical The Secret Garden

A bit of earth
She wants a little bit of earth, she'll plant some seeds
The seeds will grow
The flowers bloom, but is their bounty what she needs?
How can she chance
To love a little bit of earth? Does she not know
The earth is hard
And does not care if one small girl wants things to grow?

She needs a friend
She needs a father brother sister mother's arms
She needs to love
She needs to dance and learn to work her girlish charm
She needs a home
The only thing she really needs, I cannot give
Instead she asks
A bit of earth to make it live.

She should have a pony
Gallop 'cross the moor
She should have a doll's house
With a hundred rooms per floor
Why can't she ask for a treasure
Something that money can buy, that won't die?
When I'd give her the world
She asks instead for some earth.

A bit of earth
She wants a little bit of earth, she'll plant some seeds
The seeds will grow
The flowers bloom, their beauty just the thing she needs.
She'll grow to love
The tender roses, lilies fair, the iris tall,
And then in fall,
Her bit of earth will freeze and kill them all.
A bit of earth,
A bit of earth.
A bit of earth,
A bit of earth.

Reminds me of the book I just (re)read, Mandy, by Julie (Andrews) Edwards. It's about an orphan girl who secretly takes care of an abandoned cottage and its garden. Great, great book. Made me cry lots this last time I've read it.

~*~

[Rant rant rant rant about small group falling apart and how life is never fair because I always lose my friends, ending with the reluctant admission that I should at least TRY to put my heart into the small group at least until December.]

And I'm just not going to think past that.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023