Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Blessings
4:07 p.m. || August 30, 2011

Sometime the faults of others can lead us to a humbler attitude about life ourselves. That's why you need friends. Because you need mirrors.

Today I was reminded to be thankful for what I have and not be envious for what I don't yet have. I've been feeling out of sorts lately as some of my friends' due dates draw near and as other friends' children's first birthdays are celebrated. Then there are other things I've been feeling out of sorts about not having, too--like a nicer apartment or local close friends. But after a post on a friend's blog, I realized how much I have been looking at the things I don't have and how little I have been looking at the blessings I do have.

All this culminated in a heartfelt prayer to the Lord:

Dear God, please turn my heart away from the things I don't have yet and onto all the blessings you've already placed in my life.

The particular memory that brought me to this attitude was Father's Day weekend. I was having a difficult time watching all my friends post about how great their dads were. It was ruining my weekend and I prayed that God would soften my heart. Well, he did. :) In church the next morning, I suddenly realized what I could do for Father's Day that would free me from the bitterness that was building. I could thank all the men who have treated me like a daughter or been good male role models in my life. So I did just that. It was a wonderful change of view.

I'm off to go exercise now. I'm learning to take better care of myself, because the other day I discovered spider veins on the back of one of my thighs. NOT GOOD. 25-year-old women should not be getting spider veins!! So I went to Stephen's work's gym and did the stair-stepper and the treadmill, and guess what? Spider veins disappeared in a couple days. So I gotta keep it up. I should not be having circulation problems already!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023