Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Heat...And Lavender
6:52 p.m. || July 08, 2012

I'm a grump with no air conditioning. A big grump.

It's not that hot here. It only reached 88 or so. I know the midwest and east are just dying with record-breaking temps, and honestly, it isn't the heat outside that is bothering me so much.

It's the heat inside. More to the point, it's the heat PLUS the ridiculous humidity inside.

Our stupid apartment is 81 degrees right now and rising. With 96% humidity.

Outside it is 87 degrees with 38% humidity.

I HATE THIS STUPID APARTMENT.

We do have an air conditioning window unit, but we only use it for extreme cases--100 degrees outside. I'm beginning to think our definition of extreme cases should be 78+ degrees inside. RRRRRR...

Sigh. So anyway.

In other news, we spent a lot of time at a local lavender farm this weekend. Yesterday we just went to look and pick lavender. They had this AMAZING smelling one called Miss Katherine that I just LOVE. And it's my favorite shade of purple. (I like light, pale purple rather than bold purple.) I didn't even know it smelled so good until I took it home; now I wish I had gotten more.

Miss_Katherine
Miss Katherine

We also bought some lavender oil there, since I use it for my acne and am rapidly using up my current bottle. (I have really acne-prone skin. :( )

Today we went back so I could learn how to make a lavender wreath. It cost $20, but it's going to be a gift for my grandmother for Christmas. And the gal running the class is a florist, and it was really fun to connect with her. She said anytime I want to "play," give her a call and ask her if there's anything she needs help with. (!!!) She also said I should show my wreath to my boss and then say, "I can make more, but you have to pay me X amount of dollars!" LOL. She actually seemed serious, but I'm pretty sure that wouldn't fly with my boss.

It was soooooo nervewracking picking the lavender and making it into a wreath, though. Bees! Bees everywhere! Fortunately they paid very little attention to me--the gal said they were "intoxicated" by the lavender, LOL--but *shudder* that ever-present humming was not fun to be around...and the idea that I could at any time accidentally put my hand down onto one on my wreath...Yikes! The teaching gal actually got stung because she didn't look before she put her hand down on a wreath she was making...What was funny was she had more pity on the bee than herself. She said, "Oh! Sorry, bee..." Because honey bees die after they sting you (unlike wasps or hornets).

So overall it was pretty fun. I'm glad she liked me, or seemed to.

And I really want to go back and get more Miss Katherine. YUM!

Oh! One last funny, neat thing I forgot to mention. Yesterday when we picked out a lavender oil, I picked the one made from Maillet lavender. And the lady at the store said, "Oh! A connossieur of lavender oil!"

That made my day. :D

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023