Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Goodwill Fun :)
9:38 a.m. || November 02, 2012

---Seventh grade: After P.E. class, the girls were all in the girls' locker room changing into normal clothes. The "popular" girls were giggling to each other in the corner, eying my friend Angela, who was not so popular. I heard one of them say, "Where did she get those, Goodwill?!" And they burst into another fit of giggles. I knew from that day forward that Goodwill was Not Cool and vowed never to shop there, EVER!---

From then on, for a good 10 years, I loathed all things Goodwill. If my grandparents and mom ever bought me anything from there, I was devastated and hid it away in the deepest, darkest corner of my drawers. If I even suspected it was from Goodwill, I would ask. The last thing in the world I wanted was to be the subject of the meanness of those other seventh grade girls.

In college, I started to realize that I didn't need to avoid that place anymore. In the last few years, I've realized there's actually a lot of good stuff there, the stuff isn't always 25 years old, AND you can get fancy dresses suuuuuuuper cheap!! I loved that part. I've bought, like, 5 or 6 fancy dresses from there, all for less than $10.

Well, yesterday was a real turning point, because I went into Goodwill to look for mason jars (Christmas crafts), and found a TON of neat kitchen stuff! It made me wish I had a house so much!

What was hilarious, and kind of annoying at the same time, was that I just sent out my practical wishlist yesterday to my family, and it had several kitchen items on it.....And then I found them all at Goodwill. Augh! Oh well.

I also found an ancient flour sifter. (Okay, not ancient, but definitely from my great-grandparents' age.) I really wanted to buy that because it made me think of my grandparents and great-grandparents. And there were some canisters that I liked labeled "Flour," "Sugar," and "Tea." (There was one more but I can't remember it...) And there were clear lids for skillets and pots, like Stephen wants, and all kinds of other neat items that remind me of my grandparents.

I really want that flour sifter. I just looked it up on eBay and the model was patented in 1930! The one I saw was newer than that, I think, but not by much. Maybe from the 40s.

Anyway... All this to say, I have now turned 180 degrees from my 7th grade despising of Goodwill. When Stephen and I get a house I am so going straight there for kitchen things. :)

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023