Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Signs for Moses
5:17 p.m. || August 29, 2004

You all are familiar with the story of Moses and the burning bush.

Okay, that was a dumb assumption to make. Here at a Christian college it's hard to remember that people out there DON'T know the story. So here it is, Stephanie-style:

So this guy named Moses is out one day tending his father-in-law's sheep in a rural desert area, and he sees this bush that's on fire, but is not burning up. He goes over to check it out and a voice suddenly booms his name. Shaking in his boots (or sandals) already, Moses says timidly, "Here I am." It's God, and God tells Moses that He has seen that Moses' people (the Israelites) have been put in really hard slavery to Egypt and He has heard their crying out for someone to rescue them and get them out of there. God tells Moses that He's appointing Moses to be their rescuer. Moses has to go to Pharaoh, the king of the people who are enslaving the Israelites, and tell him simply: "Let my people go."

As I said, Moses was already pretty scared once God said his name. Now he suddenly has to come out of his rural life in the desert and go to the king and claim God told him to demand freedom for the people that the king has enslaved. Needless to say, he's not exactly excited about the idea. He asks God a bunch of questions--"Me? Why on earth me? Who am I going to say sent me [that they'll believe?!]? What if they don't even listen to me? What if they don't believe a word I'm saying?" Of course, God has answers for all these questions. He even turned Moses' staff into a snake, and makes Moses' hand instantly diseased and then heals it again. He says He will do that in front of Pharaoh, too.

Moses isn't convinced. He starts making excuses. He mentions that he is not a good speaker--he's "slow of speech." God says, probably getting a little impatient by now, "Who gave man his mouth? Who makes him deaf or mute? Who gives him sight or makes him blind? Is it not I, the LORD? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say."

Moses says, "Oh Lord, please send someone else!"

God got angry then. The Bible says His anger burned against Moses. I can imagine us humans reacting in the same way--but much quicker.

What I find really interesting, though, is that instead of striking Moses to the ground or punishing him in some other way, He tells Moses, "What about your brother, Aaron? I know he can speak well...He will speak to the people for you."

Apparently God is a forgiving God. :) And patient, too... I think that is a really good example of how patient and forgiving He is.

Another observation I got from that--well, it wasn't really an observation. More like, it made me realize something. Perhaps God gives you certain faults, flaws, disabilities... Just so you can overcome them. Like my stage fright, which I share with Moses. (That's why I was reading that story today. I have to give a speech tomorrow for speech class. I am not a public speaker-type!!)

So anyway. Those are my thoughts for today. :)

Later!

-Stephanie

(Scripture references: Exodus 4:1-16. Quotes taken from NIV.)

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023