Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Just Live A Gospel-Centered Life Already!
11:59 a.m. || May 07, 2013

I just need to write this down to get my thoughts in place so they can keep turning.

My husband just posted an article on Facebook: http://www.worldmag.com/2013/05/the_new_legalism

A friend of his responded with a response to the blog that Stephen posted: http://johngunter.net/christian-mentality/

I was reminded, when I read the first article, of a blog I read a few weeks ago by a different author on the same topic: http://jennieallen.com/blog/a-new-legalism/

And then I realized she wrote her blog in response to yet another article on the same topic: http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2013/march/here-come-radicals.html

Annoyed to death at all the repetition (I hate repetition...so much), this is what I wrote under Stephen's post:

I think the bottom line is, no matter what era we live in, no matter what social justice issues rage or what societal advances the world makes--no matter what name and justification they give it, groups of people will always be looking for legalistic ways to secure their salvation from whatever form of failure it is they're afraid of.

And so there will always be people reacting to the newest form of legalism, and sometimes they'll be Gospel-balanced about it (like the guy in Ryan's article seems to be), but sometimes their reactions will spawn yet another kind of legalistic thinking on yet another point of of the spectrum. And honestly I'm getting really, really tired of following the chain of reactions. Maybe I just spend too much time on the Internet reading blogs.

I hope it makes people laugh. I hope it makes people think. I hope it makes people realize that sometimes they should stop thinking and theorizing, and just plain live their own Gospel-centered life, however they feel called to do so, without worrying about everybody else's theories all the time!

Side thought: This is the epitome of an NT versus SF thinking.

I'm going to go get off the computer and live my life now.

Hmmm...Maybe that's what I should have written...

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023