Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Debt Snowballing :)
9:23 p.m. || June 05, 2013

Wow! It feels like it's been a while. Feels good to write in here again.

I'm still at the shop, thanks be to God. I really felt miserable after last week's failures. I really, truly wondered if they would even keep me on. But this week has been going better. I found a surprising ally in one of my coworkers, Mike. He's this really good, fast designer that likes to razz everyone and give them a hard time. He watches me like a HAWK because I'm so new and insecure, and I am always and forever expecting to hear some remark from him on the failures of my work.

But, much to my surprise, he has actually helped me a few times, and been encouraging once or twice. Today was an encouraging day. One of the things he has told me is that my work is a little tight and I need to loosen it up. So I tried that today, and I showed Mike, and lo and behold, he said, "Yeah, that looks way better!" So that was great. Although, I tell you, I canNOT get used to making arrangements "looser"! Those stupid pictures on the Internet lie, and I know it in my head, but they are still so stuck there that I have the h-a-r-d-e-s-t time making arrangements the way they are really supposed to look. Uggghh! Anyway. Improvement is a good thing. *thumbs up*

Anyway, so my first paycheck, the one from Mother's Day, went mostly to splurging--a celebration. Ohhhhh, what a glorious feeling!! We have had to be terrible penny pinchers since the new year with the new taxes. So once we got that extra money and knew I would have future hours at the shop, we used the money to treat ourselves really well. :) We went out to eat and each got our OWN dish (instead of sharing, like we normally have to), and then we went to see a movie, and then we went out for some scrumptious desserts. Oh my. It was just one heavenly day.

What was great about it was that we truly knew it was a one-time splurging celebratory time. When my next paycheck came around, we had no problem using it for exactly what we planned it for--debt snowball!

And that's just what we did this week. We made our first extra payment towards Stephen's car this week, and it feels great. :D We did the math, and if we put in as much as we put in this week, we can have the car paid off in 9 months!!!

You know what's funny? Taking that first step toward debt snowball has made me REALLY REALLY want to sell stuff so I can make more money! I spent a while on Etsy today wondering what on earth I could sell there. Silk arrangements perhaps? Handpainted things? I actually would really like to try painting again, but we really have no place to do that here. Gift cards? Pillow covers? *sigh* I probably can't do anything along those lines, but I sure would love to.

Thinking...Thinking...

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023