Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Deepening My Faith Again :)
11:28 a.m. || February 02, 2015

So it seems like I've been catapulted into a faith-growing journey again. I prayed for it a few weeks ago, and it feels like these last two weeks could've been prefaced with "Here we go!" in response to that prayer. Last night at 3 AM after Micah ate, I lay awake, thinking about faith things and getting very passionate about them. It feels like my teenage years again.

Once upon a time last year I was reading both the Old and the New Testaments together, trying to read through the Bible, and I got to Jeremiah and 1 Timothy and fell off the New Testament wagon because Jeremiah is just hard to get through. But I felt like I needed to get through it. Now I'm almost through it and I decided that I could try catching up to where I was supposed to be in the New Testament, which happened to be 2 Timothy 1. When I opened my Nook last night to read God's Word in order to get to sleep, that's where it was open to. And I am so glad I read it. Everything in chapters 1 and 2 seemed so incredibly applicable!

2 Timothy 1:5-7
"I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well. For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control."

2 Timothy 1:12
"But I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that he is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me."

2 Timothy 2:1-2
"You then, my child, be strengthened by the grace that is in Christ Jesus, and what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men who will be able to teach others also."

2 Timothy 2:14-15
"Remind them of these things, and charge them before God[f] not to quarrel about words, which does no good, but only ruins the hearers. Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth."

2 Timothy 2:19
But God's firm foundation stands, bearing this seal: 'The Lord knows those who are his,' and, 'Let everyone who names the name of the Lord depart from iniquity.'"

2 Timothy 2:23-25
"Have nothing to do with foolish, ignorant controversies; you know that they breed quarrels. And the Lord's servant must not be quarrelsome but kind to everyone, able to teach, patiently enduring evil, correcting his opponents with gentleness. God may perhaps grant them repentance leading to a knowledge of the truth."

Reading all these verses came on the heels of reading a book called "Parenting in the Pew" and entering the nursery controversy we find ourselves in at church (touched on in my last entry), and on the heels of reading a few blogs entitled "Why I Hate the Church" (thank you, Facebook newsfeed...), and a chapter of Kevin DeYoung's book "Why We Love the Church," and not a long ways after reading the fascinating introduction to R. C. Sproul's "Essential Truths of the Christian Faith," which talked about 10 reasons people decide not to study theology. (I grew up in a church and a family that discourages the studying of theology, so that was especially relevant!!)

Anyway. Absolutely thrilling brain expansion about faith yesterday thru last night after mulling all these recent developments in my head.

I walk away with absolute confidence in my decision to keep Micah with me in church.

I walk away with even greater appreciation with and gratitude for my friends who attend my church and are also serious about their faith and theology: Will and Savannah, Andrew and Charis, and possibly even Hayley and Isaac.

I walk away with even more dedication to deepening my faith and continuing reading all these great books.

-Stephanie

Side note: Entry 1300! Wow.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023