Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Islam vs. Christianity
1:27 p.m. || November 10, 2004

Wow. Talk about unexpected questioning.

This is from an online friend of mine who I have been witnessing to for the last 6 months. I was talking to her about school ('cause I haven't talked to her in forever), and suddenly:

Chickletincharge (her): Do you think gays are going to hell?
Chickletincharge: I dont. Because I think if they feel sorry for being intimate with others of the same sex, and if they love God and theyre loyal to God, then theyre going to heaven
Seinahpet210 (me): have you been intimate with others of the same sex?
Chickletincharge: No. But Im bi
Seinahpet210: yes you've told me that before
Chickletincharge: so, do gays go to hell?
Seinahpet210: practicing...yes. otherwise...that's a matter of uncertainty. (in other words, I don't know)
Seinahpet210: just to be honest, I am really scared that they will.
Chickletincharge: Do any religious books other than the bible say it?
Seinahpet210: other religious books as in...?
Chickletincharge: Anything from another religion
Chickletincharge: I think the truth about what God wants, is in all of the books. and some religions interpret it differently
Seinahpet210: I think there is only one way to get to heaven
Seinahpet210: only one book that truly tells us how to follow God and live our lives for Him
Chickletincharge: I think God intended us to interpret the Bible, and if we really believe something is true, then it is
Seinahpet210: say you have a Mustang (or whatever kind of car you want to imagine). say that the makers claim that the Mustang can take you to the moon. you may believe and believe and believe, with all your heart, that the car will take you to the moon. but will it?
Chickletincharge: You see. there is a difference between God, and a car maker. God is all powerful. if he wanted the car to go to the moon, he could make it
Seinahpet210: of course He could. but does He?
Chickletincharge: Well thats just a metaphor
Chickletincharge: because no one actually believes cars go to the moon
Chickletincharge: But spiritually, I think he does
Chickletincharge: Thats why so many people that faithfully serve him, will go to heaven, even if theyre not christians
Seinahpet210: that contradicts what Jesus said
Chickletincharge: Jesus also said he forgives sinners
Chickletincharge: he died for sinners
Chickletincharge: so why would he send sinners to hell?
Chickletincharge: it of course depends on the sin
Seinahpet210: because they haven't repented
Seinahpet210: turned away from what they're doing
Chickletincharge: God is more powerful than Jesus. And I know he loves me. And i love him. So im not one bit worried about going to hell
Seinahpet210: God IS Jesus
Chickletincharge: But God was also before Jesus
Seinahpet210: "In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God." John uses the Greek word logos (translated Word) to refer to Jesus
Chickletincharge: And why would Jesus prey to God, if it were himself?
Chickletincharge: I believe they are almost exactly alike. but seperate
Seinahpet210: also, Jesus said, "I and the Father are one" and "Before Abraham was, I AM."
Seinahpet210: sorry--hold on
Chickletincharge: You can be one with someone, and be seperate at the same time
Chickletincharge: Hope you dont get offended by any of this. Its just that im rather fond of my faith, and my beliefs
Seinahpet210: so am I
Seinahpet210: and no, I'm not offended
Chickletincharge: k good
Chickletincharge: You see...you did something amazing. you brought me closer to God. Ive just gone a step further and Im deciding what I want to believe, and what I believe to be the truth
Seinahpet210: are you believing what IS the truth, though?
Chickletincharge: Are you?
Seinahpet210: yes
Chickletincharge: Or are you believing what you believe to be the truth?
Chickletincharge: Because, I can find something, somewhere, that will contridict it
Seinahpet210: I'm believing what the Bible--what God--what Jesus says to be the truth. and I know that's the truth
Chickletincharge: God has said different things to different religions
Chickletincharge: Because theyve had different uses for different religions
Seinahpet210: uses?
Chickletincharge: Yes
Seinahpet210: what do you mean?
Chickletincharge: Like in the Quran, he tells women to wear veils. this was because they werent modest enough
Chickletincharge: but in the bible, he has completly diferent messages
Chickletincharge: Because they were a different society
Chickletincharge: And maybe, the way you were raised makes it better for you to live by the rules he gave christians
Chickletincharge: Im just saying, there are other ways
Seinahpet210: and I disagree. I tell you what--I'm surrounded by religion professors here. Would you mind if I went around and asked them whether Christians and Muslims serve the same God, and then e-mailed you my results?
Seinahpet210: that seems to be the basis of your questioning
Chickletincharge: Well, those results might be tainted, as its in a christian school
Chickletincharge: but sure
Chickletincharge: ask them
Chickletincharge: He might not go by the same name. but he is, in both religioins, an all powerful being
Seinahpet210: you could also do some looking around yourself. There's a book called "The Case for Christ." it is written by an atheist who set out to prove that Christianity is wrong
Seinahpet210: and ended up finding a ton of evidence that it's right
Chickletincharge: Atheist. Trying to prove one single religion wrong. Which means he wasnt looking at other religions except that single one
Seinahpet210: not necessarily
Seinahpet210: well, wait, never mind :-)
Seinahpet210: I see your point
Chickletincharge: And yeah, I agree with alot of the ideas of christianity
Seinahpet210: but you don't agree with the core of it
Chickletincharge: It depends what you think the core of it is
Chickletincharge: Id say the core was love, and trust
Chickletincharge: but thats my interpretation
Seinahpet210: the core of Christianity is that Jesus is God, God is Jesus. Jesus is the only way to God because he is God. (John 14)
Seinahpet210: forgiveness of sins--the only way to God--is achieved through Jesus
Chickletincharge: Which is were my part, love, comes in
Seinahpet210: love is not the only part of it. but it is a huge part of it
Seinahpet210: :-)
Chickletincharge: Anyways thatd be interesting if you asked your teachers
Seinahpet210: yes

AAAAHH!!! Scary! I have never been hit with such a firing of questions like this! And I do not have answers for everything! Goodness, it's terrifying being thrown in this position!

I have e-mailed the professors of theology here... None of them have replied yet. (I wrote it at, like, 11:00 last night after I finished talking to her.)

How can I prove to Sadie that Christianity is the ONLY way? I don't have enough background in other religions to give a convincing argument!! Good heavens... What a nerve-rattling conversation for a conservative Christian from the rural, northwestern region of the U. S. of A...

Keep praying for me in this, friends. Thank you. :)

Love, Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023