Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Christmas Cards! Good Grief!
9:48 p.m. || January 01, 2005

Well, that was completely and totally humiliating and flustering and all those other good words.

I was just talking to Isaac. I didn't mention it in here, but before Christmas break, we were talking about me making Christmas cards, and then I had to go, and he asked me: "Well, if you don't mind writing another Christmas card..."

My mouth dropped open. Was he serious? Was he serious or was he kidding me again?? I decided to wait and see what he said, if he clarified.

"Your grandparents will probably yell at me, but is it out of bounds to send you my school or home address? Or would you feel more comfortable by email?"

So he was serious! Oh, my goodness... I had no idea what to do.

I told him I'd have to ask my grandpa. And we talked about that for a while, and then we finally agreed that he'd send me his home address (giving me his home address would prove him a little more trustworthy) and I'd e-mail him later to say whether I'd got the okay or not.

I felt kind of uncomfortable/awkward about sending this stranger a Christmas card. I wanted to ask him why he wanted one, but was afraid to do that, too. I'm too nice, I guess; I didn't want him to be offended or anything.

So I talked to my grandpa about it and finally decided to send him a card, without a return address (my grandpa's suggestion).

So today we were talking and he said he'd got it, and then asked me if he could have my school address.

Um, well, after reading that chapter, I had my head on straighter than usual and got suspicious. Still being a nice person, I asked him: "So. I probably should have asked this a long time ago. But why did you want a Christmas card from me? And why do you want my address?"

Well, he told me the absolute greatest of my fears.

"Well, actually, it was sort of a joke at first..."

OH MY WORD!!!!! I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN!!!!!

I am such a retard!!

This is how the rest of our conversation went:

Me (S): ::smacks forehead:: oh for goodness' sake. I wish you would've said so
Isaac (I): *blushes* sorry!!!
I: I know, I know, I was kinda taken aback by you actually taking me seriously
S: aaagh! dumb mistakes! why in the world do I take stuff so seriously?
S: I'm sorry.
S: that must've been awkward for you
S: oh boy do I have a lot to learn... for instance not to take stuff so seriously...
S: I'm really sorry
I: it... was strange, I have to admit, but then again, as you recall, I was in the middle of writing my thesis as well, so the easiest thing was to take it at face value
S: I am so sorry.
I: no, no, don't be sorry, if anything, I should be the one apoligizing
I: i feel like a sheep.
I: (sheepish)
S: you! I feel like a sheep that just got all its wool shorn off and is standing there looking awkward
I: LOL! it must be cold... I mean you're in *********** and all
S: this is me: :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
S: times about eight
I: I'm sorry, I didn't mean to freak you out or anything like that
S: okay, okay, let me quote you. for your information, I save all my IM conversations. this is you: if you don't mind writing another christmas card... you're grandparents will probably yell at me, but is it out of bounds to send you my school or home address? or would you feel more comfortable by email?
I: really, I have to assure you, I'm not... gah
S: that just doesn't sound like a joke to me
S: (I am trying to excuse myself and lessen my embarrassment)
S: LOL
S: and, for Pete's sake, if you were just joking about the card... why on earth continue and ask for my address?
S: I dont get you
S: or maybe... geez, never mind
S: {sigh}
I: you don't get me??? I don't get my self :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
I: times about 4567.56
I: ....8
I: 2.
S: for goodness' sake. why in the world............
I: man o man, I really turned things around, didn't I
S: I should say!
S: you sounded perfectly serious to me. why--?
I: alright, now that I am thoroughly flustered and discombobulated...
S: ::expression softens:: have you had enough tirading?
S: :T
I: lol if I say no?
S: well, you'd be out of luck, because I've calmed down now
I: geez that was stupid of me...
S: ditto
S: that was stupid of me too
S: next time remind me to ask you, at the risk of sounding blonde, if you're just joking or not
I: I shall, trust me
S: good. then we'll both avoid embarrassment to the highest degree
I: you can say that again

So, good grief. I have certainly had my share of embarrassment for the day. And the night. And tomorrow. And next week. :)

I'm really tired; my eyes are killing me; so that's all I'm going to say. Good night all! :)

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023