Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Butterfly's Wings
1:50 p.m. || April 16, 2005

Our latest essay topic in English Composition is "Change." We were to write a paper advocating a change of some sort. Here is a draft I just wrote today; someone tell me what you think of it.

The butterfly effect/chaos theory was just something I threw in at the last minute to have a creative title for the essay. I can take it out if it's way too unconnected to the rest of the essay.

Note: Sarcastic. Bitter. Attempt at humor.

The Beat of a Butterfly�s Wings

I should learn to like writing essays. There are three reasons: 1) unfortunately, nearly every college class, especially the English courses, requires essay writing; I shall not be able to escape from it; 2) if I remain in my current state of disliking essays, I shall do badly on all of them; and 3) in the future when my potential superiors look over my work from college, if they find that I did badly on all my essays, they will not be inclined to hire me. Now, allow me to elaborate on these three reasons.

Firstly, I shall not be able to escape essay-writing in the remaining three years of my life at college. Colleges all across the country expect us to be able to know how to write essays by the time we graduate. This is evidenced by the fact that public high schools have integrated Advanced Placement English Composition classes into the school system to prepare students for any college they might attend. Therefore, I should simply �face the music� and learn to like composing essays, because I shall never be free from it.

Secondly, I should learn to like writing essays because if I continue to detest writing essays I shall do badly on all of them. The mind learns only what it wants to learn, and if I have set my mind to disliking essay writing, I shall be disinclined to listen when my professor instructs us on how to write good essays and, consequently, produce only poor essays that earn no more than a B. I do not want to do badly on all of the essays I will be obliged to write in the future.

My third and final reason is closely tied to my second reason. Lastly, I should learn to like writing essays because in the future, when I am interviewed by potential employers, if they see that my college essays show shabby work, they will be disinclined to hire me. It will be difficult enough to get a job when I graduate and am cast out into the world; having a poor history of English composition grades will not help me.

To summarize, there are three reasons why I should learn to like writing essays, all tying into each other neatly. I shall be faced with essay composing for the rest of college. If I do not learn to like them, I shall do poorly on them, which will result in low grades. Low grades will not aid me in impressing potential employers in the future. It is all as the chaos theory suggests: every time a butterfly beats its wings in Brazil, a tornado forms in Texas. And so, I should learn to like writing essays.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023