Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Na�vet�, Optimism and Arrogance
11:26 a.m. || November 30, 2005

Hm. My roommate is learning some tough lessons. Once we were having a discussion about kids and poverty levels at different parts of town. I told her in my hometown all the rich kids came from Heights Elementary, because the Heights--the outskirts of my hometown--is where all the people who could afford it built their own houses.

I actually went to the lower-class elementary school in kindergarten and first grade, because we lived downtown. My mom--a single mother working and going to the Community College with two children to raise--could only afford the houses downtown at that point, I guess. I should ask her sometime.

I lived in a lower-class neighborhood. That is difficult for me to grasp, because I don't think of myself as poor. My mom spoiled Sam and I rotten... Because... Well, that's more personal, so we won't go into that. So Sam and I got everything we wanted... But what about my mom...? Another thing to ask her.

Oh, I have been na�ve.

Down with na�vet� and optimism. I want to be more sensitive towards people's needs (like my mother's needs, maybe?).

Well... Back to my story about Jenny, and the downfall of optimism and na�vet� she is facing.

I didn't have any proof for that; I had just known it for a while from listening to my friends in high school. But Jenny just read me something from her social work book: schools get their money from the local property tax. So the schools in higher-class and middle-class areas get more money, and consequently better books and other supplies, than the schools in lower-class areas.

Jenny was disgusted at this. "Schools are supposed to be equal!" she said, her disappointment showing through.

Flash of arrogance from me. Newsflash, I thought sarcastically at her, we don't live in a perfect world. Knowing that wasn't exactly nice to say, I measured my words and said carefully, "The world's not quite the rosy place you think it is sometimes." Lucky me, I saved my rear by adding "sometimes." What's with me? I need to not be such a know-it-all in front of Jenny. I was there not quite so long ago. I'm still there in some respects, obviously, as noted above.

Well... I need to get to lunch and then History. Next week is the last week of classes! And then its finals week and then its HOME. (For a measly little week. :( )

-Stephanie


P.S. Just took a liberal/conservative quiz after having Jenny explain to me Affirmative Action, No Child Left Behind, and a voucher system.








Your Political Profile



Overall: 50% Conservative, 50% Liberal

Social Issues: 50% Conservative, 50% Liberal

Personal Responsibility: 50% Conservative, 50% Liberal

Fiscal Issues: 25% Conservative, 75% Liberal

Ethics: 75% Conservative, 25% Liberal

Defense and Crime: 50% Conservative, 50% Liberal


How Liberal / Conservative Are You?

RIGHT SMACK DAB IN THE MIDDLE! Good grief. Looks like I need to update my Facebook profile.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023