Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Solo Mike-Shy
5:08 p.m. || February 06, 2003

Well, I certainly have my fill of annoying people in 2nd hour. All in one person. Roll call day 1: "Elizabeth?" "My name's Lizzy." Roll call day 2: "Elizabeth? --Or, er, no, Liz." "NO! It's Li-zzy!" Roll call day 3: "Liz?" "It's LIZZY!" Roll call day 4: "Liz-- no, Lizzy. Did I get it that time?" "Yes. LIZZY." No thank you. No smile.

She has the worst attitude I've seen in a long time. We have to do these group projects in Environmental Science. Unfortunately "Li-zzy!" is in my group. She does nothing. But in contribution to doing nothing to help with the project, what does she do? She criticizes the work we're doing. "Well, what about this?" she says, after we have explained it 400 times. "How are we gonna do this?" And she uses "we"! Including herself! Of all the nerve!!

Some of the questions she asks are sensible, but she asks them in such a sassy, irritating tone that it just totally grates on my nerves. I've never, ever wanted to scream at a person so much! I have anti-people days sometimes, but she just rubs me all the wrong ways! She tests my patience like none other.

Have I clarified myself? :)

So anyway... I have a song from Jazz Choir stuck in my head. Blah. It's cute, and fun to sing, but it gets old when the same section repeats itself in your brain. :)

Meanwhile, today and yesterday in choir the girls around me and Mr. Choir Teacher scared the socks off of me!! All the songs we're doing have solos in them. I hate doing solos. Microphones terrify me. The other girls are much better at solo-ing than me. So I just let them try for the solos. :) And I'm pretty quiet, so they don't bother me much

Yesterday, though, the girls around me were talking about the solos-- which they liked and stuff. Then one of them asked me, "Do you like the solo to 'A Time for Love'?" This unexpected question completely flustered me; I'd only been half-listening to their conversation. I totally was at a loss for words and blushed fiercely. (Naturally. :) ) "Um-- yes, but I-- I, uh, like the one to Brazilia better."

Now THAT was a good move. Now they'd tell me to try out for the Brazilia solo! I waited in terror for them to suggest it-- but luckily they didn't! Phew! Saved in that incident.

But nothing could save me from today's. "Now, for the scat parts in 'Just the Spot', I'm just going to go down the row, and have each of you scat for 2 measures."

WHAT?!!

I don't know how to scat!!!!

I stared agape at Mr. D. He didn't see me. Finally we started at measure 44 and I sang badly as a result of my dread of the quickly coming measure 52. I didn't know what I was going to do-- I just knew I could not scat.

The girl next to me scatted just fine; she is not shy at all.

Then came my turn.

If you thought I was blushing bad before-- this was even worse! My whole face must've been red. I just sat there and shook my head. Mr. D. didn't look up from his music (he was playing the bass guitar). He just didn't hear me-- so he said, "Stephanie's a little soft."

The class started laughing when they saw me sitting there, lips sealed shut, just shaking my head no, no, no. But I wasn't humiliated. Nothing could possibly have been more embarrassing than me scatting! NO.

I wasn't the only one who chickened out, anyway. There was this girl-- an alto --when it came to her, she got up and ran to the end of the row! It was pretty funny. :D And several girls just didn't do it at all, like me. Several guys didn't, either! We have a lot of solo-mike-shy people in that class. :)

Well, I've gotta get offline. Our call forwarding isn't working. :P

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023