Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Step Into My Office
4:23 p.m. || May 27, 2006

::sigh:: Sabrina is good practice for me for parenting teenagers. She is so trying...

Sabrina. Golly, what to say about her. She's just somebody I know from the Internet. She has a cousin who she... Well, this is kind of hard to articulate since my "audience" is so diverse... Her cousin was a Christian once. That's how I'd refer to her. But I know there are some people out there who'd either say she was never a Christian or she is a Christian still because it doesn't matter what you do. Anyway, that's beside the point. The point is, her cousin's gotten into some bad stuff and Sabrina is desperately trying to bring her back to a living a Christlike life. I honor her intentions. But she hasn't had any success at all. It's not Sabrina's fault at all, it's just that her cousin is at this point in her life where she won't listen to anybody who tries to tell her she's living wrong. (Especially if they tell her in those words, I imagine.)

Anyway, even though her cousin...whose name I can't remember...it might be Ashley...is at this point in her life, Sabrina still tries. Which I also honor. Way to persevere! James 1:2-4. But she gets crazy-emotional about it...And SO upset when Ashley doesn't listen...And she comes to me and she lays all this out to me like I can help. I do try to help. Believe me, I've tried every trick in the book! Just to get Sabrina either to 1) realize she's got to let God handle this or 2) handle it differently. But Sabrina doesn't listen to me, really. It must be a family trait, LOL... Just kidding. She'd probably take offense to that, but I didn't mean it to be offensive. Anyway.

I gave up talking to her about her cousin. I just...can't do it anymore. I've said everything there is to say. There's no point talking about it anymore; I won't change my opinions and neither will she. I told her all this... That there's nothing to say about Ashley anymore. "You know what I think. You know what's right," I said, and then I corrected myself. "I don't mean to say what I think is necessarily what's right; just I trust that you know what the right thing to do is." I got a cold, "Whatever" as a reply. Bristled me. But she always does that to me, and I told myself today, That's not the answer. Don't snap at her. Don't say anything. The subject is closed. And so I closed it.

I'm thinking of when I wrote an entry, not too long ago, where I said in wondrous rapture, "Could I be a counselor?" It was right after a really successful talk with a different girl. I'm not going to let this thing with Sabrina kill my love to try and help people. There are successes and there are failures... I think every counselor faces those, and they persevere, because they love to help people. That's what I'm going to do and who I'm going to be.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023