Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Ode to Mr. D!
11:13 p.m. || May 25, 2006

I just got back from Mr. D's LAST CONCERT ever! :'( Oh, man, is my high school ever going to miss him. There were so many tears tonight. The Jazz Choir girls started bawling while they sang... They did the sweetest thing, though; at the end of the concert, after the grand finale, when everyone thought it was done, the Jazz Choir ran up and sang one last song for Mr. D. That's when I started crying! Man... We are going to miss him badly. But the EXCITING news is our new music director is one of Mr. D's old students! And he's FABULOUS! At least with the choir... He's okay with the band... I wonder if he'll grow in his talent to be as good as Mr. D with the band in the end? That would be wonderful. I bet Mr. D will help him some... :) Man.

I saw Nate and his family tonight. I didn't really expect the warm welcome I got from his family (!). I thought about severing ties with them earlier... But I don't think I will after all. I didn't know they still thought about me that much. I haven't contacted them in who knows how long. I'm glad I'm back, and I'm glad that Kristi invited me over. :) "For a prayer date," she said. I said, "Or another girls' day!" :D It was really fun last time we did that. A prayer date... I don't pray that much with other people! I wouldn't know what to do. :S I don't even pray that much about other people, which is a sad fault that I do own to. I try. I do try, and I do honestly care for people. A lot. But... But I don't do things if I don't see obvious results. Does that make sense? If God pointed out to me a way my prayers impacted somebody's life and helped somebody... I'd have a lot more faith in praying for other people. I think it's something God'll work on in me.

The finale was incredible. (Sorry, switching back. :) ) It was by Dan Bukvich, who is an AMAZING composer! He really... Wow. He's the music professor at the University of Idaho, and the U of I's music program is WAY out of this world. :) Anyway, the piece was called Gloria. It had readers. The band played. The choir sang. There were trumpet solos and trumpet trios, and everybody moved. At first the choir walked halfway up the aisles between the seats and then down again, round and round--it was a really cool effect; it reminded me of angels ascending and descending Jacob's ladder (I think it was supposed to!). Later the choir came and encircled the whole audience (the best they could, anyway, with an 80-voice choir and an auditorium that seats 900 :) ). I was, unfortunately, in the back against the wall, so I was behind them, but it was still neat. They had little teeny bells that made the prettiest sounds! And the band by that time had filed up onto the stage. They did that by coming down the aisles, playing all the while (haha, I'm a poet and I know it!). MAN, they did a good job! The trumpets and the trombones! It was so cool. And at the very very end, the choir went and lined up at the front of the stage and the band blasted away--wow, what an effect. It literally had me against the wall, just blown away by the grandeur of it all. It was a good finale, in other words. ;)

Beautiful. Beautiful.

And guess what? Though I missed our high school's production of Aida (stupid me! stupid me! stupid me! I FORGOT!!), Nate was in it and his family has a DVD of it!!!!! YAY!!!!! It ought to be incredible, being Mr. D's last grand musical production. He's done such an incredible job. Seriously, I ought to write an ode to him or something. :D He's amazing.

Mm... I don't want to quit, but if I keep writing I'll just be repeating myself. Mr. D is amazing. HA!

All righty, I'm going to take a shower now. LOL... Did I mention I came to the performance 25 minutes late? :) Yeah, at a quarter after seven I went over to Grandma's to eat a little dinner (she has hot dogs). Ten minutes later I made some offhand remark about it being Mr. Dole's last year--oh yeah, because his daughter (who graduated with me) had a little clip in the newspaper about her--and Grandma goes, "Yeah, he's doing his final concert right now!"

WHAT?!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

I couldn't believe she hadn't TOLD me!!!!!!!!!! "Well, I only learned that it was today at noon!" she tried to absolve herself. I'd been home all DAY, for cryin' out loud!!!!

"Well, you can still go to it," said Grandma.

"I probably already missed the Jazz Choir," I said woefully.

"It started at 7:30," said Grandma.

WHAT!! 7:30!! It was only 15 minutes into it then!

"Yeah, go if you want to! Go, you might still catch the Jazz Choir!"

I was out of there like a flash. I was NOT gonna miss that concert!

And I did make it for the Jazz Choir. :) I came only a little bit into their first song. :) Happiness! Oh, they sounded so beautiful. But there I go again! LOL, okay, I'm really leaving now! Good-bye, and good night!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023