Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Practice for Shakespeare
11:39 a.m. || December 02, 2006

ENTER MALVOLIO.

'Tis but fortune; all is fortune. Maria once told me she did affect me, and I have heard herself come thus near: that, should she fancy, it would be one of my complexion. Besides, she uses me with a more exalted respect than any one else that follows her. What should I think on't?

To be Count Malvolio!

There is example for't: the lady of the Strachy married the yeoman of the wardrobe.

Having been three months married to her, sitting in my state--

Calling my officers around me, in my branched velvet gown, having come from a day-bed, where I have left Olivia sleeping--

And then to have the humour of the state! And, after a demure travel of regard, telling them, I know my place, as I would they should do theirs. To ask for my kinsman Toby--

Seven of my people, with an obedient start, make out for him. I frown the while, and perchance wind up my watch, or play with my--some rich jewel. Toby approaches, courtesies there to me--

I extend my hand to him thus, quenching my familiar smile with an austere regard of control--

Saying, "Cousin Toby, my fortunes, having cast me on your niece, give me this prerogative of speech--"

"You must amend your drunkenness."

"Besides, you waste the treasure of your time with a foolish knight--"

"One Sir Andrew--"

What employment have we here?

By my life, this is my lady's hands! These be her very C's, her U's and her T's, and thus she makes her great P's. It is, in contempt of question, her hand! "To the unknown beloved, this, and my good wishes--" her very phrases! By your leave, wax. Soft! and the impressure her Lucrece, with which she uses to seal: 'tis my lady! To whom should this be?

"Jove knows I love, but who?
Lips, do not move.
No man must know."
'No man must know.' If this should be thee, Malvolio??

"I may command where I adore
But silence, like a Lucrece knife,
With bloodless stroke my heart doth gore.
M, O, A, I doth sway my life."

'M, O, A, I doth sway my life.' Nay, but first, let me see, let me see, let me see.

'I may command where I adore.' Why, she may command me--I serve her, she is my lady! What should this alphabetical position portend? If I could make this resemble something in me. Softly! M, O, A, I...

M-Malvolio. M-why, that begins my name!

M--but there is no consonancy in the sequel; that suffers under probation. A should follow, but O does.

And I comes behind.

M, O, A, I--this simulation is not as the former. And yet, to crush this a little, it would bend to me, for every one of these letters is in my name! [Madly tears open letter.] Soft! Here follows prose.
"If this fall into thy hand, revolve. In my stars I am above thee, but be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon 'em. Thy Fates open their hands; let thy flesh and spirit embrace them; and, to inure thyself to what thou art like to be, cast thy humble slough and appear fresh. Be opposite with a kinsman, surly with servants; let thy tongue tang arguments of state; put thyself into the trick of singulairity: she thus advises thee that sighs for thee. Remember who commended they yellow stockings of late and wished to see thee ever cross-garter'd: I say, remember. Go to, thou art made, if thou desirest to be so; if not, let me see thee a steward still, the fellow of servants, and not worthy to touch Fortune's fingers. Farewell. She that would alter services with thee, THE FORTUNATE-UNHAPPY."
Daylight and champagne discovers not more, this is open! I will be proud, I will read politic authors, I will baffle Sir Toby, I will wash off all gross acquaintance, I will be point-devise the very man! [Suddenly realizes he might be fooling himself. Decides he can't be.] I do not now fool myself, to let imagination jade me, for every reason excites to this: my lady loves me! She did commend my yellow stockings of late, she did praise my leg being cross-gartered, and in this she manifests herself to my love and, with a kind of injunction, drives me to these habits of her liking. I thank my stars I am happy! I will be strange, stout, in yellow stockings and cross-gartered, even with the swiftness of putting on! JOVE AND MY STARS BE PRAISED! [Throws letters in ecstasy. Sees second page.] Here is yet a post-script.
"Thou canst not choose but know who I am. If thou entertainest my love, let it appear in thy smiling; they smiles become thee well; therefore, still smile in my presence, dear my sweet, I prithee."
Jove, I thank thee! I will smile, I will do everything thou wilt have me.

EXIT MALVOLIO.

These are lines I have to memorize and act on Monday for my Shakespeare class. Wish me luck. Two of my teammates are drama buffs and I have never acted in a play before. :S

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023