Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Out
1:23 a.m. || January 30, 2007

Oh my God.

Isaac wants to meet me.


Okay, now that I have collected myself and gotten over the shock a little bit. I want to write some of the things he said about other things before I elaborate more on what I wrote above.

He hasn't been reading my diary lately. I knew that and have really not been upset about it. I honestly don't think he'd care to read what I've been writing about for the last month and a half. ::rolls eyes:: Anyway, he mentioned my diary being locked while we were talking, I told him basically what I just said: "You wouldn't want to read it anyway lately." Naturally, he asked why, so I told him, "There's this guy. There's been some drama and, to put it succinctly, I have been writing about nothing but him and the drama that's been going on for the last month, and I'm starting to even annoy myself."

"*smiles* This guy... Does he know that he's the instigator of such...annoyances?" Isaac asked.

I laughed. "Sort of. Luckily he doesn't know about my D-land and, with any luck, he never will."

"Ah, drama kings...," he began, and he already had me surprised enough to be hooked. I've been most of this drama, at least since Kev ended things, and that seems to me to be the natural conclusion one would jump to anyway. To me, it's usually girls who bring in the drama--Kevin was the exception. But apparently to Isaac, guys are the rule? "Slower and dumber than drama queens," he continued, "but particularly annoying when attempting to be neutralized."

And then Isaac went into a whole sequence of acute observations about guys that I'd never known before and that were really cool to learn--especially from a guy firsthand!

I was still getting over the surprise of his opening remark, and in the time lapse, he remarked, "Sorry. I am not privvy to the situation, and it is unfair, perhaps rash of me to comment." He joked, "I just can't understand why he would put you through drama... you make up enough of it on your own." I laughed out loud and countered, "You jerk! I can't believe you just said that to me!"

"What?" Isaac returned innocently. "I was merely commenting on your exceptional talent in the theater."

I laughed again. "Oh, sure, try to save yourself now."

"Don't mind me, I'll just keep digging my own grave," said Isaac. "You don't need to help." LOL. "Anyways," he took up the thread of the conversation again, "You need to not let him get you down... Boys will always look for drama, especially if we don't know what we want."

Again, my eyebrows shot up in surprise. Those were the exact words Amy had used to describe Kevin... And Isaac didn't even know about the situation yet! "Wow," I said. "You've pretty much described him."

"Well, I was...," he said. "Sometimes still am that way." I thought he might say that. However, I was still trying to comprehend the idea that Kevin's not exceptional for all the drama he puts into life. Isaac went on with his amazing psychological observations.

"Drama is just an outlet for the emotions that are too unfamiliar to cope with. Drama involves anger and contempt, intrigue and excitement. It's not quiet and stable, which are trademark results of emotions that have a solid foundation in security and maturity. We take a while longer to adapt to those... When we do, I often look back at the detrimental effect the former caused, all for a sort of perverse (meaning twisted, not sick or sexual) amusement and incapability on my own behalf. It's not something you can switch on and off, it's something we (talking about the male gender) have to grow out of, and the growing pains are often very hard to wrest."

With that, a bunch of different thoughts hit me. All guys are like this? Isaac, too? And perhaps the most disturbing question of all: And they do it for amusement? That thought kind of made me sick. It was just how my girl friends had described Kevin to me. I found it disgusting then, but the disgust was curbed a little by my thinking, as I said, that Kevin was the exception, not the rule. But here was Isaac telling me that all guys were this way. I decided I didn't really want to think about it right then and ruin the interesting conversation, so I just asked instead in a more mystified way (although he couldn't hear that): "All guys?"

What he said next was really interesting as well, and I was glad I had prompted him to elaborate more. "Well, there are some that will have it to a lesser degree than others. Drama is just one outlet (a less socially acceptable one, of course). Others deal with video games, exercise, workaholism (raises hand), etc." Wow. That's it, then. That's why guys do all those things. It was like "HERE: Answer!" in bright neon letters. Amazing. "All these are defense mechanisms of one sort or another to protect (I know, its pretty twisted) our emotions and libidos for something we are otherwise unprepared for." Goodness' sakes... That information would definitely take some absorbing. I said this to Isaac so he wouldn't wonder why I'd suddenly gone silent. :) His response was a lighthearted kind of closing of the topic: "Of course, all this is at the detriment of beautiful and respectable young women such as yourself, and for that I do apologize on behalf of the second half of the world."

After that, the conversation drifted, which was okay. It was so interesting to think about what he said. I'm still a little appalled at the one revelation. Ugh. For amusement? But I'm trying not to think about it too much, 'cause I'm pretty sure if I do, I'll throw myself off a cliff in despair about the entire male species.

But people do mature. I'll have to wait for time. Blah. Kinda good to know this about guys now, though.

All right, I really need to do homework, but I won't leave you guys hanging: this is how the other part of the conversation went.

Isaac: anyways, it's getting pretty late and I have work tomorrow at 9am but I won't leave until you give me a five cent tour of what you've been up to for the last two weeks
Me: lol... okay. I wrote three lesson plans (stressed me out like none other, and now I have to write an entire unit...). that was basically my life last week Isaac: wow, an entire unit?? that's a lot of teachin
Me: yeah. 7 lessons minimum. welcome to the upperclassmen world :P
Isaac: don'tcha just love it???
Me: riiiiiight
Me: but I'll live
Isaac: I sure hope so...
Isaac: it would be a crime for you not to
Isaac: never to have met you in person would probably be the worst of it
Isaac: leaving you with that thought in mind, I can't keep my eyes focused/open any longer at all so I must bid thee a good night

Right. Totally did NOT let him leave after that.

Basically, in the rest of the conversation we both just said that we'd thought about meeting each other. It didn't get any further than that. No plans. From what I gather, Isaac's not even sure yet if he seriously does want to meet me in person, which is okay. I'm okay if we have to think and talk about it for a long while before we actually decide if we do want to. God's will be done in this. I understand either way. I'll never, ever regret befriending Isaac. :)

All righty. Enough procrastinating. Off to the wonderful world of homework... Isn't it sad when you have to do Thursday's homework two days in advance because you have NO TIME on Wednesday to do it? :(

Bye, all!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023