Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

21!!
2:30 p.m. || February 10, 2007

It's my birthday. :) It's been a great one so far. Yesterday my roommates took me out to dinner at the Cheesecake Factory. We were all dressed up pretty... I had my dress on that I was going to wear to the Valentine's Banquet (which was also yesterday) in the event that I got asked. I didn't get asked, but I got to wear the dress. :) I'll get to wear it Tuesday night, too, when I go to a different Valentine's banquet with my friend Mindy.

We went to see "The Holiday" in the dollar theatre after dinner. WOW. Crazy movie... It had me laughing the entire time, except for the two times it made me cry. AGH. But anyway. Good movie. Crazy movie.

My roommates got me a fancy necklace and earrings to go with it, and a cute Valentine's pen and a bouquet of purple flowers. They decorated the apartment today, too, while I was sleeping. There are balloons everywhere, and posters and a SURPRISE banner and "Happy Birthday" written on my mirror. Very cute. :D It was a nice surprise when I woke up this morning... Both my roommates' birthdays are in the summer. I feel like I should do something back for them, maybe at the end of the year or something... During finals week... I like that idea. Too bad the three of us don't have many mutual friends... :S Guess I have a bit to think about it.

Today my mom came over--she drove down yesterday, but I was gone the entire evening--and we went to lunch at Super Pollo, the Mexican restaurant here she likes. Tonight we're going to Red Robin with my aunt Glena and cousin and I imagine I'll have some presents to open from my mom.

I got several birthday cards and lots of happy-birthdays on Facebook and MySpace this week and a couple of presents from family members. My favorite present so far was the $25 gift card to POWELL'S!! I got that from my other aunt. My grandparents got me socks--lots of socks! I imagine that's because I asked for warm clothes for my birthday. I do need socks. It was a very practical gift. My grandpa probably thought of the idea. :) My aunt Glena got me a bath set, which I will happily use soon. My bath/shower gel I use is almost gone. Anyway... Probably the best part of today was when I got completely surprised by a card from Ryan when I got back from lunch! He stopped by my apartment to deliver a birthday card! What the heck! So blown away. That guy is way sweet.

'Nuff italics for you? LOL. I can't find any other way to express it. Captials are too loud. Underline is boring. Italics is the only way.

Anyway, so that completely blew me away. Why would Ryan go to all the effort of coming down to my apartment to deliver a card? I see the obvious answer, of course, but I don't believe it. I don't think he's really interested in one particular girl right now; if he had three other girl friends with birthdays in February he would probably deliver cards to them, too. Anyway.

Kevin wished me happy birthday on Facebook, which was a happy surprise. :D I really didn't think he would... At least not with an actual joke and a message like he did. I expected maybe an obligatory "Happy birthday," but he added, "Sadly enough it is downhill from here :( You have to grow up now. But don't worry, it is not that bad. I hope you have a wondendus day." LOL. Funny thing is, Isaac said EXACTLY the same thing: it's all downhill from here. :)

Dj wished me happy birthday on Facebook; so did Sam's best friend, Emily. She's so sweet. :) Then my loveable Kelly who is in Pennsylvania wished me happy birthday on MySpace, as did a band, actually, that I added, that I don't even have a CD of. Weird? Yes. But kinda cool. :)

I can't believe I got a birthday card from a boy. I have NEVER gotten a birthday card from a boy before! At least not from a guy I completely didn't expect one from. :D I feel just a little bit like Rachel in The House on Mango Street: "You are a pretty girl, bum man continues. What's your name, pretty girl? And Rachel says Rachel, just like that. Now you know to talk to drunks is crazy and to tell them your name is worse, but who can blame her. She is young and dizzy to hear so many sweet things in one day." Young and dizzy from hearing so many sweet things in one year, on my part...

It's a curious thing--romantic attraction. I mean philosophically. I have to wonder why God created it. I guess feelings are great--though I wouldn't really know; I've never not experienced them--but are they really great enough to play such a large part in finding a life partner? I've been told so much not to trust my feelings that I just wonder, why on earth did God bother giving them to each of us if they weren't to be trusted? And trying to figure out how much of our mistakes made because of acting on feelings were our fault and how much of them were not our fault is the worst of it. It's not our fault we have such strong feelings. Yet when we say "He acted impulsively," it's usually not a good thing. Where or how do we find the balance between following our feelings and using our brains?

I could ponder on this a while longer, but it's all kind of muddled right now. I'll just sort it out on paper. I could just write it out here, I'm sure, but what I'd end up with would be 10 pages of confusion. Anyway. I'm having a very good birthday. :)

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023