Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Thoughts
4:12 p.m. || December 19, 2008

I'm being very thoughtful today. I've already posted two notes on Facebook, so I'm going to post the third one here. I don't want people being bombarded.

The first note I posted was the lyrics to "Better Days" by the Goo Goo Dolls.

One of my favorite songs to hear at Christmastime. Or anytime.

-Goo Goo Dolls

And you ask me what I want this year
And I try to make this kind and clear:
Just a chance that maybe we'll find better days

'Cause I don't need boxes wrapped in strings
And desire and love and empty things
Just a chance that maybe we'll find better days.

So take these words
And sing out loud
'Cause everyone
Is forgiven now
'Cause tonight's the night the world begins again.

I need some place simple where we could live
And something only you can give
And that's faith and trust and peace while
We're alive

And the one poor child who saved this world
And there's ten million more who probably could
If we all just stopped and said a prayer for them

So take these words
And sing out loud
'Cause everyone
Is forgiven now
'Cause tonight's the night the world begins again

I wish everyone was loved tonight
And somehow stop this endless fight
Just a chance that maybe we'll find better days

So take these words
And sing out loud
'Cause everyone
Is forgiven now
'Cause tonight's the night the world begins again.

'Cause tonight's the night the world begins again.

The second note I posted was about Frasier, the TV show.

Stephen and I watched one of my favorite episodes of Frasier last night: Freudian Sleep, from season 11. The first 3/4 of it is pretty absurd, but the last 1/4 of it scores it a place in my mental file cabinet for thought-provoking encounters.

Premise: Everybody is having bad dreams over a weekend vacation in the mountains.

Marty: What's all the racket in here?!!
Frasier: It's this infernal mountain air, Dad, it's giving us all nightmares!
Marty: All of you??
Frasier: Well, Daphne dreamed that she was terminally fat. Niles, that he was going to be a bad parent. At least mine arose from a real problem, the fact that I'm alone--
Marty: Oh, geez, we come up here to relax! You're arguing about your dreams?
Niles: Well, dreams that reveal genuine anxieties, Dad--
Marty: Oh, blah, blah, blah! (to Daphne) You're gonna lose your looks? Happens to everyone. (to Frasier) You're afraid you're gonna end up alone? You'll still have your family. (to Niles) You're afraid you're going to be a bad father? Join the club! Now just clam up and go to bed!

Frasier, Daphne and Niles come into Marty's room and apologize.

Frasier: Dad, we're sorry.
Daphne: I guess we let our problems get to us a bit too much.
Marty: Well, hell yeah! If those are the worst of your problems, you're lucky! I got a bullet in my hip, a girlfriend who's too good for me and might realize it any day, a dog who's pushing 80 in human years, and I'm not far behind him! But you don't hear me making a fuss. Know why? 'Cause I focus on what's good about my life.

A lot of Frasier episodes end on a hilarious, but rather frustrated note. Occasionally they throw in episodes like this with some real, meaningful messages. I love those ones.

Sitcoms may not have Christian or even moral worldviews, but occasionally you do find little gold nuggets in them. Or the pony in the poop, as Gene (the NNU chaplain) would say. :)

Now I've got the Charlie Brown Christmas song stuck in my head.

Christmas time is here
Happiness and cheer
Fun for all that children call
Their favorite time of the year

Snowflakes in the air
Carols everywhere
Olden times and ancient rhymes
Of love and dreams to share

Sleigh bells in the air
Beauty everywhere
Yuletide by the fireside
And joyful memories there

Christmas time is here
Families drawing near
Oh, that we could always see
Such spirit through the year...

The last line is what sticks in my head. Why aren't people as nice as they are at Christmas all year round?

I'm going to leave it there, because I can already sense that thinking more about this is going to depress me. :P

It'll be better when the sun returns.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023