Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Snow Update
8:17 p.m. || December 23, 2008

Have I mentioned the snow?

Oh yes, that entry... Wow, I was in a bad mood.

I've been writing like mad on my public Stephanie and Stephen blog, but I've sadly neglected poor Diaryland in the process. Allow me to update you.

MONDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2008

Ice and Snow
Ice and snow, ice and snow... The metro area got dumped on last night, like much of the region. Then a strong east wind kicked up and scoured the snow into ice. The temperatures aren't predicted to get above freezing this week. Our apartment complex parking lot is like an ice skating rink.

Stephen got to work okay with chains on his tires. I planned to spend the day with my mom, since it's her birthday. We were going to go hear a brass band playing Christmas music. I couldn't get out of the parking lot, so Mom went ahead and drove down to get me. When we got there, there was no brass band (go figure), so we instead went to the mall to eat and then headed to the massive bookstore.

When we got back to my apartment complex, the mail truck was stuck in our parking lot and being rescued by the post office. As Mom and I approached, the mail lady called, "Do you want your mail? What apartment are you in?" I stopped and talked with her a bit--she congratulated me on getting married, which made me smile. :D I'd seen her, but never talked to her before.

Stephen and I spent most of yesterday indoors, watching Christmas movies and decorating our tree. Tonight we are supposed to make gingerbread houses with the young marrieds group, but trying to find a strange place at night in this kind of weather makes me a little nervous.

SATURDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2008

SNOW.
The weather has been crazy this week. We had snow on Sunday and around-freezing temperatures all week long, plus more snow every night, and unrelenting snow today. It's been snowing since 5:30 this morning, without stopping.

Tomorrow we're predicted to get freezing rain or snow or both. The schools in the area have been canceled every day this week, so teachers and students get an extra week of Christmas vacation.

It's quite beautiful, but very wearisome. I'm glad I don't live in a place where this is more common. I would get really tired of the snow, really fast.

Steve and I drove around doing errands today and then spent a little bit of time at his work campus walking around and playing in the fluffy white. It's not wet enough to pack, so no snowball fights or snowmen, but I did have a fun time running around in it and making a footprint heart and a footprint snowflake. The ponds at his workplace are mostly frozen over. Everything is covered.

What do you like best about snow?

Stephen: I like how it changes the scenery, and I like the element of danger it adds to driving.
Stephanie: I like how it sparkles and makes everything white and fluffy-looking. I also like making snow angels and having snowball fights and sledding in it--basically doing everything fun in it.

SUNDAY, DECEMBER 21, 2008

More Snow
Whew! I am exhausted. This winter weather has got me beat.

We got about 1/2" of freezing rain last night, on top of the 6" of snow we've already got. It's fairly common in the area, but I am not native here and have never seen anything like it. I was amazed when I stepped on what looked like a beautiful snow bank and CRACK! The "beautiful snow bank" broke in shards like a mirror.


I continued to be amazed as we proceeded to un-ice my car. My doors weren't sealed shut, thank goodness. So we turned on my car, put defrost on full blast, grabbed my ice-scraper-chipper and started chipping away. Giving Stephen our only ice scraper to use, I started to use chunks of ice to deice my car. It was incredible to break off 2-foot ice slices.

As we drove through town, several places were closed, including a McDonald's and a Starbucks. We went to the grocery store to get some food. While we were out, it started snow-raining. When we got home, about an inch and a half had collected. Tired of driving in the snow and not getting to play in it, I suggested Steve and I go walk around our apartment complex and take some pictures. I took advantage of the play date and dressed up like an "ice princess"--white eyeshadow, shimmery pink cheeks, and a white sweater with a faux fur-lined hood.

Walking through the snow-ice-snow wore me out, but it was fun and we did get some good pictures.

MONDAY, DECEMBER 22, 2008

Snowed In
We are officially snowed in.

Stephen tried to get to work today in my car, but the car wasn't able to make it over the snow. Last night's accumulation totals our snowfall to 1.5' here.

He is working from home at our kitchen table. I'm sitting on the couch listening to and watching him. It's kind of fascinating. I know what he does but I've never seen him do it. I kind of want to hover over his shoulder and watch.

What I should be doing is applying for jobs of my own. What else do you do on a snow day at 9 in the morning?

Stephen ended up commuting to work after all, after lunchtime. He used his own car and chained tires, because my car's clearance is too low for the snow.

I drove around in it today a little bit. It was quite the adventure. I wrote a huge, long blog about it, but it gives away a lot of location information, so I don't think I'll post it here.

I really like the anonymity of this diary. :)

Suffice to say, always clear the snow off the top of your roof before you go driving!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023