Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Solely Nate
4:14 p.m. || January 12, 2004

You know Nate? Let me go back.

Copied from regular diary entry.

Okay... A diary's for all my secrets, right? Well, here's one... I keep thinking tonight of one boy. And it's not Logan.

Oops... I just chickened out on saying who it is... I'm sorry.

End regular diary entry.

And from today's diary entry (this is what I originally came here to write):

Slightly paraphrased in places.

Okay, diary. The time has come. That mystery boy, the Other Boy?...I reveal to you who he is: it's Nate.

Now, please don't get any wrong impressions quite yet. Let me express myself a little. Then draw your conclusions.

Today at lunch I got to talk to him, which was fun. I missed him a lot. We just chatted for a while and it was great.

After school, however, it was a little different.

I saw him when I was walking from last hour, standing by the main doors. I smiled at him and waved, as usual, expecting him to do the same back and then walk away with one of his many girl friends. [That's girl friends, not girlfriends. FYI. :) ]

But he didn't. He kept watching me and then when I was passing him, he started walking with me. He never does that....

He put his hand on my elbow and I thought he wanted to talk to me, and wondered if I should stop or not. I couldn't stop right there in the middle of the hall, though, so I walked on a little ways, and he took his hand away and we just walked together.

I had that feeling he wanted to say something to me. Maybe I watch too many chick flicks or maybe my imagination was running away with me--thanks to my Hawai'i trip (another story)--but I found myself quietly preparing what to say if he asked me to the next dance or out or something.

But what he said was quite different. So different, in fact, that I had to think a moment to understand whta he said. All he said was, "I'm tired. You?"

I looked blankly for a minute, trying to comprehend, and then gave a delayed, "Yeah."

He never did ask me out. We talked just a very little, and then he said, "Well, I...better head back. See you later." And again the light elbow-squeeze.

"Okay," I murmured, as if waking from a dream. "See you."

And then I wanted to cry.

I was telling myself, Oh! He does like me! Oh my goodness, he does.... It was too...beautiful to think about and I just wanted to come home and cry about it and write.

I hadn't got very far when doubts came upon me. That's the way I am. I don't want to get my hopes too high, lest they only live to be dashed.

So I was telling myself, Maybe I'm overreacting. Maybe he was just being friendly. Oh, but I do hope!

More than anything, I wanted it to be true. I want him to like me.... And I don't know why. I just know I want it.

And it's weird, it's not like the desperate, grasping-at-straws hope when I think Logan's looking at me. It was this heartbreak hope that fears it is too good to be true. What's up with this? What's going on?

Maybe it's just his bewitching charm. That must be it! I bet other girls have felt the same way.

You know what's interesting? With him it was the only Imagine that turned out right. I know that makes no sense; let me explain. While I was in Hawai'i, I imagined every now and then what everyone would say when I got back. I imagined Lute demanding happily, "Where have you been??" I imagined a friend of mine enjoying hearing me talk about the trip. I even imagined Mr. D's jovial comments to me in jazz choir. :)

Well, Lute acted like he didn't even like me anymore. My friend and I had trouble talking... That was odd. And Mr. D wasn't even at school today!

But with Nate, everything was as I'd imagined it. We were still the same...With perhaps a little more.... :) (I hope so!) It was just right.

I guess that's what made it so beautiful.

Oh, I'm so glad to be back at school! Especially with Nate...

Now. Make your analyzations. Do I like him? Does he like me? Do we have potential as a "we"?

Oh, Diary, I'd be so happy if we did!

End regular diary entry.

I really don't expect good answers from any of my readers out there (if I get any answers at all), since you guys don't know Nate. But you can throw out your opinions anyway. :)

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023