Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Diffusing Conflict...
3:50 p.m. || March 21, 2011

Yipes...Facebook drama strikes again!

Stephen astutely observed that this happens to me about twice a month. I think it's perhaps more like once a month. At any rate, it seems as though on a regular basis, something I say on Fb gets miscontstrued and a whole terrible conflict ensues. Makes me want to run the other direction.

I think that the air is more or less cleared this time, but I worry a smidge that I might get a call or e-mail from someone from my church. I'm pretty sure I made myself clear in this case, though.

I'm friends with a handful of people from my church on Fb. I know they will see this and I worry what they will think and/or say. Lord, strengthen me.

Essentially, what I said is that I grew up not understanding the sinfulness of man, and part of the reason was the church I grew up in. The clarification I added that will hopefully diffuse any misunderstandings (but we shall see) is that my church was largely made up of long-time Christians and I heard sermons directed at people in the middle of their walk with Christ, and thus heard less about the sinfulness of man that brings us to His Cross in the first place.

My sister said something that I misunderstood, thinking she was extremely angry with me. My sister angry at me is not something I'm eager to engage!! So I quickly typed up a clarifying response about what I said about my church. All the while she meant something else... And I'm a bit shaken up from what I thought she thought...And what I think the church might think...So I also quickly changed my status to some of the words to one of my favorite hymns, LOL. I also thanked my sister for clarifying, and agreed with what she REALLY meant. Sheesh! The things I go through to keep the peace.... EEK.

The hymn:


1. On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,
the emblem of suffering and shame;
and I love that old cross where the dearest and best
for a world of lost sinners was slain.

Refrain:
So I'll cherish the old rugged cross,
till my trophies at last I lay down;
I will cling to the old rugged cross,
and exchange it some day for a crown.

2. O that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,
has a wondrous attraction for me;
for the dear Lamb of God left his glory above
to bear it to dark Calvary.
(Refrain)

3. In that old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,
a wondrous beauty I see,
for 'twas on that old cross Jesus suffered and died,
to pardon and sanctify me.
(Refrain)

4. To that old rugged cross I will ever be true,
its shame and reproach gladly bear;
then he'll call me some day to my home far away,
where his glory forever I'll share.
(Refrain)

Yipes, yipes, and more yipes! I do NOT want to go through that again!

All the while I was merely trying to spread the Gospel to my friend Rhonda. Heavens' sakes. :S

-Stephanie

-----------------------------------------------------

After all that, I got into a huge debate with someone on Facebook. A guy from NNU. I'm going to call him W., for Wesleyan. I shouldn't say I "got into" it; he is the one who started it. I think there are now fifty-odd comments on my status; about 10 of them are from the misunderstanding with my sister, 15 of them are Sam and W. posting back and forth (Sam was asking GREAT questions), and then the rest were me and W. volleying, plus two remarks from another NNU guy, and one response to the second guy from Stephen. Wow.

At least W. was handling the debate rather well. Very level-headed-ly. He's like that. But I believe he is still in err in his theology. I am most certainly not a Wesleyan anymore, although I'm not 100% Calvinist either. I'm still on the journey between the two, and I hope what I end up with is not one or the other but some kind of balance between them. Because there are Calvinistic tenets I can't wholly accept, and there are definitely Wesleyan concepts I can't accept. Where will this end, Lord? Hopefully in You!

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023