Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Slightly Calmer About the Job Now
11:36 p.m. || July 14, 2011

I definitely am getting baby fevered up. Although it's still pretty mild. Watching Liz's pregnancy online is helping. I sure hope I get to meet her little one while she's still a baby. :)

In other news, I think I'm finally settled on taking the job. I just have to not think about the stuff I'm scared about. I sent out an e-mail to family and close friends telling them about my fears about not being competent enough for the job, and got lots of great feedback. My father-in-law actually gave me the best feedback. He reminded me that it is THEIR job to determine if I and MY job to determine if I really want the job. Which I do. I want the learning experience.

Here's what he said in full, it was all good:

Congratulations, Stephanie!
My advice, if interested, is trust them. It�s there job to decide if you have the knowledge skills and abilities to succeed in the job � not yours. Your job is really just to decide if you are interested. Also, regardless of how much they made it sound like you are running the place, I don�t think they are going to put real managerial pressure on a part time employee who they don�t even offer benefits. That�s not good planning since almost by definition, part time employees are a flight risk. So take deep breath, commit your decision to the Lord, listen to the good advice of those in the distribution list above and decide if you WANT the job. From what I�ve seen, if you want it, you�ll do just fine even if the first few weeks are stressful to you.
Praying for you!
- Dad

I just now realized he signed it "Dad." Hmm.

I have often wondered how they feel about me calling them Margie and Steve still. I wish I could just call them Mom and Dad, but it just never feels right. I attach such deep meaning to the terms, that it seems like I either need to have a fittingly deep attachment to them as Mom and Dad, or to attach less deep meaning to the terms. So I'm hoping for the latter so I can put my mind at ease. I think the day I call them Mom and Dad will be the day I move on from this coming to grips with the fact that I didn't have a perfect family (and, eventually, that NO families are perfect).

I can call them Mom B and Dad B, sort of.

So Dad B's reminders that I'm making too much of what they can realistically expect of a part-time employee were really, really helpful to me. Others said the same thing. I'm glad I don't have to be as terrified as I have been. I told Dad B that if they really do have the usual expectations employers have of hourly-wages, part-time employees, I'm pretty darn sure I can exceed those. :) Mom and Grandpa pounded good work ethic into me, thank goodness.

Anyway. So yeah. I'm feeling more at peace about it. Although when I think about it becoming "real," WOW! does it get nerve-wracking! But it's not so much fear of failure as it is just the anticipation of learning something really new and having to learn on the fly. Yikes! Learning on the fly is not my preferred method of learning, but I can do it. I know I can, because I have in several areas now. :) Yay! I'm growing up!

LOL.

In other news....Sammie's Fb updates have been SO encouraging lately! She is in SO much better moods than I have ever seen her in. Granted, I'm only seeing Fb updates, but they are SO consistently happy that it is super encouraging. Yay!!!!

In other other news, I've joined PixieHollowForums.com and am having lots of fun inventing fairy stories there. :D I think it just might get me out of my creative writing slump I've been in! Hooray for that!

I guess life is looking up, eh? Lots of exclamation points and smiley faces. :) Thank the Lord for his faithfulness.

Love,
Stephanie

P.S. OH YEAH! And you MUST check this website out! TheAllNaturalFace.com. I am in LOVE with their makeup line! And I am feeling encouraged by helping the girl--Crystal is her name--with her start-up business. It is a very early-on start-up business, as you will likely be able to tell immediately. But the stuff is really good. I'm so excited to have found a purely all-natural makeup website that a girl who cares a lot about what she does started. I really stand behind what she's doing.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023