Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Effects of Processed Sugar on Me
1:26 p.m. || April 08, 2012

I think I may have found the solution to my sugar-tolerance problem, which I haven't addressed in here yet, but suffice to say Starbucks drinks have picked up a nasty habit of making me feel really buzzy-headed, super ADD, and just not good.

It's processed sugar, especially in liquid form (like Starbucks' sweetener).

I'm writing this after having a Starbucks drink and am feeling super ADD and incoherent, so this diary entry might reflect that.

Stephen and I got concerned enough that we decided to start a trial-and-error form of figuring out what the problem has been. The most telling thing was when I got a chai latte from Panera bread. I think they are 16-oz drinks, which is bigger than my usual chai that I have been getting at Starbucks. And it didn't have the same effect on me.

So I looked up the ingredients for both Starbucks sweetener and Panera chai latte (which is actually made with Republic of Tea chai concentrate). The sweet ingredient in Starbucks sweetener is just plain sugar, whereas the sweet ingredient in Republic of Tea chai concentrate is cane juice.

The other thing Stephen thinks might help is the cinnamon included in Panera chai. Cinnamon deters the effects of sugar on the body/mind somehow.

So. I'm thinking I should alter my usual Sunday drink tradition. And maybe invest in some cinnamon pills.

I am very ready for this ADD feeling to go away now...Agh!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023