Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Journaling: Not My Father
12:13 p.m. || November 27, 2012

I put up a recent picture of myself on Facebook. It's very difficult to come by them, because Stephen always takes them and then he never ever ever gets them to me! So I took initiative this time and took a few off his camera and put one up to replace the 2-year-old one I had on there.

Recently, I was friend-requested by a relative of my father's family. While I'm not close to my father or to his side of the family, I like to be able to connect in some kind of way with that side.

Well, this relative (Bill) commented on my recent picture. He commented, "Wow, all [my dad's last name]!"

Which basically came across like he was saying to me, "Wow, you're every inch your father!"

Boy oh boy, did that not sit well with me. Excuse me, but I am NOT so wholly self-interested that I can't hold down a job or a marriage. And even if I did get divorced, I would NOT totally drop out of my kids' lives, and then make up stupid, self-preserving excuses for not seeing them.

That was my initial reaction. But, truth be told, I do share a few qualities with my father, as much as I hate to admit it.

For instance, I may not have made my entire life an obvious pattern of self-interest, but I do struggle with not knowing who I am and being therefore rather directionless without a structured environment.

My sister struggles with that as well.

And I do, in fact, share some facial characteristics with my dad, like cheekbone structure, but I wouldn't go so far as to say I am "all" Dad or all that side of the family even by physical appearance. My body is kind of a combination between both my grandmothers, with the big legs of my father (as my mom informed me a while back).

And, of course, personality-wise, I am almost an identical copy of my Grandma Mary (Mom's mom). :) I like that part the best.

I do share an interest in writing with my father. But writing is super prevalent on Mom's side, too. My great-grandma was actually a published author. :)

*sigh* So anyway. I didn't appreciate being put into that box by a man who I didn't even know existed until he friend-requested me.

But I'm not brave enough to say something to him. And, as I said, there are a few characteristics I share with my dad, so I can't just tell him he is absolutely wrong.

This is sort of a dumb entry. Almost a rant, almost meaningful, but not quite either. Oh well. We'll call it a journaling entry. (Taken from when Stephen wants me to talk through my emotions without a filter and says, "Journal to me.")

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023