Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Christians + Persecution
2:30 p.m. || March 28, 2013

So we started a Bible study with a young couple from our church, Will and Savannah. They are new Christians and in their early 20s. Will's grandfather is active the Sunday night small group ministry we're a part of, and the Lord worked through him to bring Will around to Christ a couple years ago and Savannah followed after. We've been sort of stalling on doing anything with them, because I wasn't sure Savannah was a Christian and I was scared to engage her. But now I'm more comfortable with her, and we're going through Philippians with them.

And I tell you, it is amazing being with young, active, growing minds in Christ again. Wow. Last night we had an awesome discussion about Christianity, its historical roots, and its Biblical connection with suffering and persecution. Very stirring... It felt like being in college again.

Will is reading and listening to all the Reformed stuff he can get his hands on, and I'm amazed at how much he has learned. He and Savannah are reading through or have read through A Puritan Theology, which is this massive collection of Puritan writings. I used to really dislike the Puritans because my only mental connection to them was the Salem witch trials, but I've since learned to search past that and have decided that they really do have a lot of sound Biblical teaching. I still don't know what to think of the Salem witch trials thing, but I'd like to put that aside for now and explore other things by them.

One thing Will said last night that really hit me right between the eyes was, in reference to today's Christian music, "Are we giving them music they can die to?" which was connected with our study, in which we read the following verses in Philippians:

"Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel, and not frightened in anything by your opponents. This is a clear sign to them of their destruction, but of your salvation, and that from God. For it has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake, engaged in the same conflict that you saw I had and now hear that I still have." Phil. 1:27-30

Another verse that fits in with the theme...

"Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil people and impostors will go on from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived. But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus." 1 Timothy 3:12-15

So I'm thinking a lot about how, Biblically, Christians and persecution/suffering go hand in hand, but today we don't see that, and I'm going to try and see what I can do to venture out of that, little by very little. I don't know that I am strong enough to start proclaiming hard truth from hilltops, but I feel like something ought to change. So I'm going to try.

That's all for now. :) I'd go on, but I've got to go off to the library.

-Stephanie

Afterthought: I keep thinking about last night's Bible study. Now I've arrived at a new place from processing through it--one that could mean a world of positive change for me. (Ew..."Positive change"...Oh never mind.)

See, I think I've realized something: Doing a Bible study with people who are open to deep discussion of it like Will and Savannah are, is bringing back the "safe people" feeling I lost 2008 and onward. And I'm wondering. Possibly any friendships I want to start or rejuvenate might have to start with a Bible study...Because it's only in a Bible study, an open and honest one that people actually want to participate in and think deeply about, that I can finally feel safe.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023