Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Stephanie, the Florist :)
10:19 p.m. || June 10, 2013

So apparently I�m just going to write about work all the time. LOL. It is the most interesting thing happening in my life right now, I suppose. :)

Today was a good day. It's the first Monday that's gone well since I started this job! What made it so good was that, for the first time, I didn't have to do anything I didn't already know how to do. :) That means that I'm slowly making my way out of "newbie" status! Thank the Lord.

And because today went so well, today was the first day that I came home and actually wanted to arrange more! I am so glad that it's finally getting better.

I made a rainbow arrangement today, which I've always wanted to do. And I kept thinking it was wrong and wrong and wrong and wrong and it was freaking me out. I think I get that way when I *really* want something to turn out well. Then I look for a zillion reasons why it isn't turning out well.

BUT, my two female coworkers praised it! They were so encouraging. <3 Boy, do I need that.

My male coworker (not my boss), I can tell, is going to be one of the toughest trials of this job. Not because he's critical--although he is the most likely to tell me I'm doing something wrong--but because of his worldview. It is v-e-r-y different than mine. He is so cynical about marriage. I never thought that would be so discouraging, because I basically expect people to be cynical about marriage. But it does bring a negative feeling to me, because I want very much to give him the hope of the Gospel for marriages, but I don't know how I would do that. And even so, arguing with him about the goodness of marriage will *never* convince him otherwise; that is something God must do, and it won't happen until he's listening to God.

So. He's my "project," sort of. He's certainly the most closed to the Gospel, although it isn't a hostile closed-ness, just a "Well, that's nice for you" closed-ness. Nevertheless, I will look for ways to unobtrusively shine God's light to him. I know God always puts me where he wants me to shine His light. :)

In other talking about my job.... I love my job. But not for the reasons everyone thinks. Anytime I tell somebody I'm a florist, their immediate reaction is, "Oh, how fun! You get to make all those people happy!"

But you know what? Making other people happy is not actually why I am in this job! That didn't occur to me until today.

But the truth is, I'm actually in this job because it makes me happy! Working with flowers (especially the bright ones <3 ) just makes me happy. And creativity makes me happy. Variety makes me happy. Being challenged makes me happy (although it makes me temporarily stressed! LOL).

And also, working part-time fits me really well. And unless you're a manager/owner, floral design is pretty much a part-time job. The holidays are the only times you can get full-time hours in. But it just fits me so well.

I even hope that after we have kids I can still work a couple days at a flower shop. We'll see how that goes, though. Floral design does wear you out at holiday time, and having Mom home around the holidays is kind of important for kids. It's important for me, too. So we'll see.

Anyway...I'm so glad things are going better now. I don't care what happens, I AM going to get the hang of this!!!!

LOL. That's me when I'm focused and motivated. :) Nice to feel that undercurrent again.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023