Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

οΏ½reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

How We Homeschool
10:35 p.m. || May 02, 2021

In my ADHD Moms group: "How do you homeschool successfully???? It's so hard for me!"

My answer:

Uh....Impulsively. In a hyperfocus way. πŸ˜‚ And a lot of times on Saturdays! I have no idea why, but that day works so much better for us both. I'm not entirely sure yet if we're doing it "successfully," haha. πŸ™‚ My kid can read, so I've gotten that far!!

I'm actually in the middle of planning our next year (2nd grade). I got Math-U-See for him, which I think will be great. Very hands-on and visual. We use a curriculum that's pretty much open-and-go, and Costco workbooks, which he really enjoys. We also watch a lot of educational videos on YouTube, etc. I guess we homeschool in bites, and as hands-on and/or visually as possible, and that's working for us at the moment.

Science, history, geography--I feel like that'll be easy to teach. And it is super fun when I get into hyperfocus mode about it. πŸ™‚ The reading and math is the hard part and feels more like work than the rest.

We're also part of a co-op, and have friends come over 1x a week for a lesson. That's nice, too, because he's social and I have something to really plan for. πŸ™‚

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023