Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Lessons Learned from VBS
3:16 p.m. || June 24, 2005

Return to Me
Dean Martin

Return to me
Oh, my dear, I'm so lonely
Hurry back, hurry back, oh my love,
Hurry back, I'm yours

Return to me
For my heart wants you only
Hurry home, hurry home, won't you please
Hurry home to my heart?

My darling, if I've hurt you, I'm sorry.
Forgive me, and please say you are mine.

Return to me
Please come back, bella mia.
Hurry back, hurry home to my arms,
To my lips and my heart.

Retorna me
Cara mia ti amo
Solo tu, solo tu, solo tu, solo tu
Mio cuore

My mom and I ordered "Return to Me" (the movie) from eBay. What a good movie. :)

Here are some more lyrics, of quite a different sort... These are from VBS this week:

Theme Song:
Welcome to a work in progress
You've entered a construction zone
We're building on a firm foundation
But not with bricks and stone
Jesus is the model of perfection
His plans for us are divine
So welcome to a work in progress
Building character in our lives
In our lives

We wanna be just like Jesus, just like Jesus
We'll honor God in all we do
Just like Jesus, just like Jesus
We'll follow his instructions, they're tried and true

Welcome to a work in progress
You've entered a construction zone
We're building on a firm foundation
But not with bricks and stone
Jesus is the model of perfection
His plans for us are divine
So welcome to a work in progress
Building character in our lives
In our lives

There were a few other good songs that I don't know all the words to. One of them had a good lesson wrapped up in a few simple words. When I find those lyrics, I'll post them--probably in this same entry.

You know, when you help out with Vacation Bible School, it is surprising what simple lessons they teach the kids that we "grown-ups" can really learn something from. Today is the one that really stood out to me. They were learning about forgiveness... Our teacher had a few pots of bleach with her, and the kids wrote down weaknesses or sins they struggled with on strips of white paper with colored markers. They stuck their papers in the pots, and the writing--that ink just disappears! It absolutely disappears, without a trace of it left! I actually don't know exactly how bleach works--whether it absorbs the ink or changes the color of it or what--but even I can see, without understanding it, how it perfectly captures the concept of God's forgiveness. Your sins--they disappear, they just vanish!

Julie (our teacher) asked them, "And how can you get those sins back on the paper?"

"You can't!" chorused the kids--the "right" answer.

"Unless you rewrite it on the paper," one or two of them pointed out.

And that's when it really struck home. You may rewrite on that piece of paper, but no matter how many times you do, the bleach will still make that ink disappear. You may sin and sin again, but no matter how many times you do, God will still forgive you. He'll still make those sins disappear.

Isn't that something?

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023